Easy Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great flavors! I left out the cayenne pepper and I didn't have garam masala. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Next time I might increase the tomato and decrease the oil a bit. I was really surprised the kidney beans went so well with this too. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I used cauliflower cut into golf ball sized pieces which I lightly steamed a couple hours before I made the dish. We had company for dinner and the dish got a 5 star rating all around [even though I forgot to add the garam masala] I will definitely make it again, this time with the garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Jezzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used 2 large cauliflowers for 6, so doubled the ingredients. I cut the cauliflower into medium florets. Followed the recipe exactly and when it was time to add the cauliflower i folded the florets through the onion mixture and put on a lid. They were soft within 8 - 10 minutes. I like a bit more sauce so I then added a little tomato paste, cream (you could use plain yoghurt) and cardamon. I served it with brown rice. I put some in the oven to keep for my husband and it was so much nicer as the top was a little crunchy which made a better texture. Next time I will bake again like a gratin over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cesson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I omitted the kidney beans and used a package of tofu instead (extra firm) - sauteed the chopped up tofu with the onions and spices until it was slightly browned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful dish. Follow the tip to use garbanzo instead of kidney beans. Maybe use a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Use the cayenne to your personal heat preference - I use less than this recipe calls for because I'm a sweaty wimp! Cook longer for softer cauliflower (and use frozen if it's cheaper). VERY aromatic and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was easy & delicious, and my first attempt at Indian. I did make 2 changes... I used chick peas instead of kidney beans (drained & rinsed) and I added about a tablespoon of hot red curry paste (I did not have any tumeric). I did a rough chop on the cauliflower. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Curry and kidney beans??? This screams LENTILS!! I used frozen (thawed) whole cauliflower; more than 1/2 an onion; 3 or 4 cloves of garlic; 1 tsp ground cumin; 1/4 tsp cayenne; 1 tsp coriander seed; one can lentils. Couldn't find garam masala... It was sooo good my BF is requesting it again for this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Wow! Easy and good. I used broccoli instead of cauliflower just because that is what we had. Added half a leftover yellow bell pepper when cooking the onion and one can of diced tomato instead of fresh. Tasty and filling with a little jasmine rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
One word: Delicious! This was such an easy and quick dish to make. I have tried so many times to make Indian recipes and have never succeeded in creating the right flavors and textures. I had just about given up when I tried this one. Amazing! So glad I tried this recipe, will definitely be making again and again. On a side note, I am not a big fan of kidney beans so I substituted the beans for green peas and it worked perfectly...Didn't even need rice with this, it was so filling on its own. I had some store-bought naan that i heated up with it, and it was a great compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very good, we didn't especially like so much coriander seed in it, it kind of over powered the dish. However being from Indiana, maybe that's the way it's supposed to be and we just don't know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States