Easy Crescent Danish Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Extremely easy for a beginner and amazingly GOOD! I used the same triangles that come in the cans (16 total/ 8 per can), filled them with the cream cheese and rolled them like crescent rolls and they baked fantastic!! Soft and buttery and...oh! so good! My husband would have preferred a sweeter glaze (more powdered sugar). I think next time I would prefer almond extract in the glaze instead of vanilla. I felt like a pastry chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I did the same thing the other reviewer did, I just filled them and then rolled them like a normal crescent roll, but I tucked the sides together more tightly. One thing, I thought there was way too much cream cheese mixture. I had SO much extra that I used it as frosting on a cake I had made earlier. I also used some apple filling in some of them, and semi-sweet chocolate chips in some, too. They were pretty good, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I have made these twice now. I would suggest reducing the cream cheese mixture by about 25% (so 6 oz (3/4 brick) cream cheese, 1/3 cup sugar, 2 tsp lemon juice) and adding about 2 T jam to the mix (still put some on top). I made it as instructed the first time and thought that it was way too cream cheesy, and the filling exploded. With less cream cheese filling and some of the fruit flavor mixed in, they came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These have been a huge hit at home and at work. I have done them with strawberry jam and apple jelly with cinnamon mixed in the cream cheese mixture. Both turned out great! I did have a little extra cream cheese filling left over, but I also overstuffed the pastries a little too much... they were still a big hit thou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent. Excellent. I made according to recipe and the cheese filling was so good. Very easy to make. I used some raspberry and strawberry jam. I added more after they were done baking as the jam had reduced quiet a bit. I left two as is but i think they look better when you make the wells even if you just add some of the cheese filling to the middle. Do not eat fresh out of the oven. But make sure to drizzle with glaze while still hot. I made them the night before and had them for breakfast, they were perfect then. These tasted like professional bakery bought Danishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These were good, but I need to bake them longer because the insides were not quite done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Instead of preserves, I used some lemon curd that I made earlier in the week and used lemon extract instead of vanilla for the glaze. My lemon curd spread out over the roll, so be sure to make your indentation deep enough to avoid that. The cream cheese filling is really yummy. The roll's texture is heavier than a flaky bakery danish, but the flavor is as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
so, so easy - if I can - you can - mixture made way too much filling, so you may be able to cut back - I made 48 danish and could of made 48 more. I concur with other review, I only added 1 tsp of filling per crescent roll and it was more than enough and I used almond extract for glaze..amazing - I also used peach and apple pie filling for topping - rave reviews from family and friends - enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
EXCELLENT! This is a recipe to write home about! I found it to be perfect. No changes were made or are necessary. Thank you Pillsbury! UPDATE: I made these using cherry pie filling this time and they were oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Yummy yums!!! These were SO good! I made half of the recipe using Solo brand apricot filling (I LOVE Solo). They were super easy to roll and shape. They looked gorgeous and tasted absolutely great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States