Easy Creole Okra and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Many Cajun "stews" also use chopped celery and minced garlic, which I added to this. Because I like Cajun food a bit on the spicy side, I used RoTel tomatoes rather than regular ones, also, and I used fresh okra (which I cut up myself) as well (but frozen okra will do just fine, as long as its unbreaded). A word of caution: Cajun/Creole pre-mixed spice, such as Tony Chachere's or Zatarain's, already has plenty of salt in it, as well as red pepper and other spices. If you use the spice, don't use additional salt. Instead, just use the Cajun/Creole spice to taste, and if you want a bit more zip, you can splash a dash or two of Tabasco onto your serving, which won't substantially add salt. Serve it up with some hot garlic bread, and you've got a quick, simple meal in itself. Also, if you want a twist, rather than adding shrimp, boil a couple or three chicken breasts until they're cooked, cut them into chunks, and make chicken and andouille stew. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was great and so easy! I added some celery and garlic and used polish sausage instead of andouille. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I made this not so easy on myself as I bought shrimp that I felt like I had to spend forever on to de-vein and remove the shells (cause I'm cheap) and I will not make that same mistake again...lol. Anyway, onto the rating. I think this was quite good, though I felt like it was a wee bit too salty for my taste. I'll have to check if my Cajun seasoning I used contained salt. My husband felt it was too spicy (wimp), but a family friend who previously resided in New Orleans said it was excellent and not spicy at all. I served this over brown rice and boy does it stick to your ribs! Thanks for the recipe! P.S. It was impossible for me to find fresh or frozen okra at any grocery store in this area (NJ) - I checked 4 stores! Finally just bought fresh at Produce Junction. We Northerners are denied easy okra access! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I simplify the recipe withtout using the meat, onions, and bell pepper. It is a great, healthy side dish when served with brown rice as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeandylirious

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Made this Saturday~~for a group of friends watching Alabama vs. Florida football~~it was delicious. Everyone loved it. Will be making again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very easy to follow recipe. Followed it, except for adding regular salt because the Cajun seasoning was salty enough. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My family and I had never tried any cajun food before. We loved this recipe and I have made it quite a few times. There have been a few things I have changed about this. The first time I made it I used the amout of cajun seasoning it called for and it was to spicy for my four kids so I used half as much the next time. I have also had to substite andouille sausage for smoked sausage one of the times I have made this and found it was really good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corina79

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have made this twice with great results both times. It tastes MUCH better the next day! Even though it was pretty dang good the first day! Serve over rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was okay. It was bland for my husband and I but we like complex flavors. We like gumbo much better. I'm not sure I'll be making this again. If I do, I will use crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I browned the sausage first and then cooked the onion/peppers in the sausage drippings. Even then, it didn't do it for us. I used Tony C's spice; very salty (there are better seasonings out there). Sorry to be a downer. :( It was easy to make though! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States