Easy Creole Okra and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was okay. It was bland for my husband and I but we like complex flavors. We like gumbo much better. I'm not sure I'll be making this again. If I do, I will use crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I browned the sausage first and then cooked the onion/peppers in the sausage drippings. Even then, it didn't do it for us. I used Tony C's spice; very salty (there are better seasonings out there). Sorry to be a downer. :( It was easy to make though! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very easy to follow recipe. Followed it, except for adding regular salt because the Cajun seasoning was salty enough. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Loved this recipe. Next time I make it, I will make it more spicy- maybe even add in some jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
the taste was great, i didnt usethe shrimp but it was a hit anyway....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is really good and VERY easy compared to my gumbo recipe. Couple of things - make sure you get quality andouille sausage - makes a big difference. Also, I add chicken stock as needed as the stew gets too thick for me. This also makes it serve more people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My family and I had never tried any cajun food before. We loved this recipe and I have made it quite a few times. There have been a few things I have changed about this. The first time I made it I used the amout of cajun seasoning it called for and it was to spicy for my four kids so I used half as much the next time. I have also had to substite andouille sausage for smoked sausage one of the times I have made this and found it was really good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corina79

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellant! I used 1T Cajun seasoning and no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Very Good. My 3 year old loved it. Will make again but add extra cajun and salt to the adult servings (hubby thought it was slightly bland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjpyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
easy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Many Cajun "stews" also use chopped celery and minced garlic, which I added to this. Because I like Cajun food a bit on the spicy side, I used RoTel tomatoes rather than regular ones, also, and I used fresh okra (which I cut up myself) as well (but frozen okra will do just fine, as long as its unbreaded). A word of caution: Cajun/Creole pre-mixed spice, such as Tony Chachere's or Zatarain's, already has plenty of salt in it, as well as red pepper and other spices. If you use the spice, don't use additional salt. Instead, just use the Cajun/Creole spice to taste, and if you want a bit more zip, you can splash a dash or two of Tabasco onto your serving, which won't substantially add salt. Serve it up with some hot garlic bread, and you've got a quick, simple meal in itself. Also, if you want a twist, rather than adding shrimp, boil a couple or three chicken breasts until they're cooked, cut them into chunks, and make chicken and andouille stew. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States