Easy Creamy Peppercorn Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is so quick and easy. I didn't have peppercorn gravy, so I used country gravy and add lots of cracked pepper. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
The best. You have to try this one. My entire family loves this. I've made it about 5 times and every time it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This is a great basic recipe and easy. My family loves pepper but doesn't really like mushrooms, so I crushed up more peppercorns and added them before baking and strained the soup to take out the mushroom pieces but keep the flavor. My family never knew and they loved it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My nephew and I had a fabulous time making this dish. Some reviewers mentioned its lack of flavor but liked its simplicity. Others say it’s perfect for a family meal but not for a dinner party. If you have the time to experiment, this basic dish lends itself nicely toward gourmet modifications. We used one pkg. of Country Gravy mix (as did other reviewers), but with 1-1/2 cups of water, rather than the one cup called for in the recipe, and lots of fresh cracked pepper. What really made it over-the-top delicious was adding about 1/2 cup of a high-quality dry sherry to the gravy mixture, along with about 1-1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning. We sautéed one large sliced onion and a lot of sliced fresh mushrooms in butter and sherry until golden. We then layered the sautéed onion/mushroom mixture over the chicken pieces, and topped it off with the COMBINED mushroom soups and gravy (thus eliminating the need to drag a hot dish out of the oven halfway through cooking time). Our chicken was very thick, so cooking time was extended. This is definitely the most tender chicken you could ask for! Served atop white rice with a crisp green vegetable on the side. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was surprisingly tasty for having so few ingredients! I also used a packet of country gravy mix because I couldn't find peppercorn. I think next time I might brown the chicken before putting it in the oven; it was sort of unappetizingly pale. But the taste was great. I used reduced-fat soup and couldn't tell at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
We loved this. I had my brother over for dinner as well as my own large family. I doubled everything. Even the kids enjoyed this. I will certainly make this again. Many thanks. The kitchen smelled wonderful while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Lacked flavor. Wasn't anything special as it just tasted like chicken and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
so I made mine in a crock pot. I added 3 cans of cream of mushroom, I used 1.5 cups of water, frozen chicken, half of an onion and a container of mushrooms. It was really "runny" gravy after cooking all day... So I added two cups of brown rice and let it cook for another hour and a half and that thicken it right up. It was pretty good. If I make it again, I'll add baby carrots to the mix too. It was very filling. Next time, I'll add more peppercorn gravy mix ~ I would have liked it a bit more "peppercorn-y". Otherwise, Very good! And very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We loved this. Leftovers freeze very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States