Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
With a few adjustments to suit my cooking habits and family's tastes this was easily a five-star recipe. I doubled both the onion and garlic; omited the herb bundle; and added 1 cup of water into the soup, using non-instant rice which I also simply added into the pot THEN simmered for the 25 minutes. Perfect! My husband thought it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a good, easy recipe. I added some heavy cream and little more flour to the broth for a creamier texture. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
A perfect soup for a cold day! I omitted the thyme simply because I’m not a fan of it. I chopped 1 TBSP of fresh parsley and added it to the soup; as opposed to making an herb bundle. I had leftover chicken breasts from the night before. I chopped up the chicken and added to the soup and simmered as called for. I also had leftover rice, which I added to the soup once I turned the heat off. The Old Bay Seasoning adds a delightful flavor and browning the flour beforehand makes for a wonderfully creamy soup without the floury taste. The best recipe for cream of chicken soup I’ve yet to find, and sooooo… simple! The recipe states that it serves 12. I halved the recipe and it was only enough for one meal for my husband and me. If you’re using this for a main course, as I did; you may want to increase the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I made some tweeks with it after reading ALL of the previous reviews. This is a great base recipe, but we all have different tastes, so it bothers me when people cut down a recipe without making their personal adjustments to it. I made this last night for a Men's get together that is happening tonight. I doubled the recipe & made these adjustments: instead of chicken breasts, I got a roasted chicken from my local grocery and chopped all the meat up. I used 2 onions, 8 cloves of garlic (we like garlic). I used 6 cups chicken broth, 4 cups half/half, 2 cups heavy cream. I didn't use the spice bundle, instead just added 2 TBSP of dried parsley. Even though I doubled the recipe, I used only 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice. I also sprinkled in some of Paula Deen's "House Seasoning"...I always have that on hand. I did have to add a little bit of corn startch to thicken it up a bit...but the final product was PERFECT! I will definitely be making again. BTW, the longer it cooks on the stove, the better. Tonight I will be transfering it over to my crock pot to keep it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe is quite good but I like a little more exotic flavors. I used a whole large onion and added a chopped hot pepper and 1 tsp. curry powder to give it some zing. I used cooked brown rice I had on hand instead of instant. A little different but very, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was a very good recipe but like all recipes I put my own touches into it. I had roasted a chicken the night before so I used the left over chicken from it. I also added 1/2 white wine and cut down the milk 1/2 cup. In place of 1 cup of broth I added the left over gravy from the night before that was chicken broth based. I didn't have Old Bay so I used Emerill's chicken rub and about 1/2 tsp. of tarragon. I also sauteed about 1/2 lb. baby portabellas and 1/2 matchstick carrots in TBS. of butter and added it with the rice and about 1/2 steamed peas. Simmered it for 30 minutes, removed the bay leaf, added a little fresh ground sea salt and pepper to taste. Absolutely delicious. Very elegant soup, I felt like I could serve it at a dinner party. I think fresh aspargus in season would be good in it too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Easy and delicious! Helpful hint: sear the chicken first then add water to let the chicken cook through, and then use the chicken broth in the soup! I ended up adding at least 1 cup extra broth to thin out the soup. Used instant brown rice and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
my husband and i both really liked this recipe. i had to kinda wing it at the beginning because i chose to boil the chicken rather than cook it in the olive oil. i deviated slightly from the recipe by using dried spices (guess-timated the amounts), adding carrots and adding some cornstarch at the end to thicken it up. but it was still a really good recipe..i would definitely recommend it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This makes for a good cream soup base. I doubled the onion, added asparagus, and added the non-instant rice with the broth and 2% milk (one extra cup of broth). I used one packet (.75 lb) of Schwan's roasted pulled chicken. I omitted the spice packet, but added a bay leaf and celery seed. This simmered down to a very thick and creamy soup, which I thinned just a touch with leftover broth. Hubby really liked the kick the Old Bay gave it. This is my new go-to base for cream soups. I'm looking forward to trying this out with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPINDELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was really a great and easy recipe! I made it with my 11 year old. I didn't have fresh herbs on hand and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States