Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I didn't use the herb packet. I added carrots for color and celery seed. it was pretty good. I also doubled the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I used the basic ingredients of this recipe to make a standard cream of chicken to use in other dishes. It turned out so well, I served the remainder as a meal. I made without herbs and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleuview
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I'm not sure what everyone sees in this soup. Yes, it was easy, but very bland. I did stick to the exact recipe. It was very watery and really no taste at all. I tried adding a little cornstarch to thicken and some more spices to add flavor, but still I did not care for the soup at all. I expect cream soups to be thick with good creamy flavor. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Easy and delicious! Helpful hint: sear the chicken first then add water to let the chicken cook through, and then use the chicken broth in the soup! I ended up adding at least 1 cup extra broth to thin out the soup. Used instant brown rice and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was a very good recipe but like all recipes I put my own touches into it. I had roasted a chicken the night before so I used the left over chicken from it. I also added 1/2 white wine and cut down the milk 1/2 cup. In place of 1 cup of broth I added the left over gravy from the night before that was chicken broth based. I didn't have Old Bay so I used Emerill's chicken rub and about 1/2 tsp. of tarragon. I also sauteed about 1/2 lb. baby portabellas and 1/2 matchstick carrots in TBS. of butter and added it with the rice and about 1/2 steamed peas. Simmered it for 30 minutes, removed the bay leaf, added a little fresh ground sea salt and pepper to taste. Absolutely delicious. Very elegant soup, I felt like I could serve it at a dinner party. I think fresh aspargus in season would be good in it too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved the recipe, but changed it to fit my own style, I used a Pt. of heavy whipping cream instead of milk, mixed with a thickening agent to the broth. After thickened with all the other ingredients, I added Gnocchi's to the cream mix, tastes like Olive Garden's Chicken & Gnocchi soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
The best cream of chicken rice soup ever. I was very easy to make. It took a little longer then the time stated but that might have been because I used bone in split breast instead of boneless. Also it was very thick so next time I will probably add more chicken broth then recommended. Will definitely make it again instead of regular chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was great. I had to substitute a few ingredients, but it turned out so well. I used Uncle Bens Wild Rice microwavable pouch and dried minced onion. I also added a few spices since I didn't have any Old Bay seasoning. I will definitely be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is such an easy and wonderful recipe!!! It tastes and smells AWESOME!! I added more flour for more thickness but other than that it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe is quite good but I like a little more exotic flavors. I used a whole large onion and added a chopped hot pepper and 1 tsp. curry powder to give it some zing. I used cooked brown rice I had on hand instead of instant. A little different but very, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States