Easy Crabmeat Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Well. I thought these were delicious. I think the first thing is to actually like crab meat. Because I was cooking for just myself, I cut the recipe down considerably. Crab meat, chopped & flaked, chopped onion to suit me, a healthy dollop of sour cream & then Pace Salsa Verde. The consistency seemed to be what I wanted & so away I went. I also gave it three shakes of ground cumin (Yum!). I didn't run the tortillas through skim milk first - didn't really see the point in that extra step. A little of the salsa verde on the bottom of the casserole dish, a little more on top of the enchiladas & then topped w/ a bit of grated Mexican cheese. I find these to be strangely addictive. The flavors blended together very nicely & have just the right amount of spice. Next time, I think I will saute the onions a bit - they are a little too crunchy for my tastes, even after microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We didn't care for the enchilada sauce at all. I wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I don't know what the negative reviews are talking about because I really enjoyed this recipe (and I'm not a real big crab fan)....I did, however, use green sauce because I don't like red an used two cans for extra sauce but prob would have been just as good with following the recipe exactly. Oh, an I did sauté the onions before mixing and the microwave. Yum! Will def make again! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good. I was trying to get by wih 8 oz of crabmeat and I had read another recipes that paired mushrooms with crab so I sauteed 4 oz. of mushrooms and added them to the filling. I was also short of sour cream and added a little fat free mayo. I used green enchilada sauce and they turned out great. I'm glad someone else mentioned they used the green sauce or I might not have attempted to even make them. I was pleasantly surprised by that they are so good without any cheese and that's great since my son i lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is probably better if you follow it as is. I tried adding jalepeno and cilantro because I had them on hand. It turned out to be too overpowering. I ended up picking out the cilantro after I tried it. I also added a small can of mushrooms and that tasted great. I really like crabmeat, but I agree with others that chicken would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Nope not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
An ok base recipe. After taking most of the suggestions listed, plus a few changes of my own it barely resmbled the original. I dont think this would be very good as is but is a decent starting place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I was not a fan. These probably would have been better with real crab but I found that even with less imitation crab that was called for, there was still way to much. Plus is was really, really messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
It is very rich in flavor the crab meat really overpowers everything else. It was good, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States