Easy Crabmeat Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Well. I thought these were delicious. I think the first thing is to actually like crab meat. Because I was cooking for just myself, I cut the recipe down considerably. Crab meat, chopped & flaked, chopped onion to suit me, a healthy dollop of sour cream & then Pace Salsa Verde. The consistency seemed to be what I wanted & so away I went. I also gave it three shakes of ground cumin (Yum!). I didn't run the tortillas through skim milk first - didn't really see the point in that extra step. A little of the salsa verde on the bottom of the casserole dish, a little more on top of the enchiladas & then topped w/ a bit of grated Mexican cheese. I find these to be strangely addictive. The flavors blended together very nicely & have just the right amount of spice. Next time, I think I will saute the onions a bit - they are a little too crunchy for my tastes, even after microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We didn't care for the enchilada sauce at all. I wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I don't know what the negative reviews are talking about because I really enjoyed this recipe (and I'm not a real big crab fan)....I did, however, use green sauce because I don't like red an used two cans for extra sauce but prob would have been just as good with following the recipe exactly. Oh, an I did sauté the onions before mixing and the microwave. Yum! Will def make again! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good. I was trying to get by wih 8 oz of crabmeat and I had read another recipes that paired mushrooms with crab so I sauteed 4 oz. of mushrooms and added them to the filling. I was also short of sour cream and added a little fat free mayo. I used green enchilada sauce and they turned out great. I'm glad someone else mentioned they used the green sauce or I might not have attempted to even make them. I was pleasantly surprised by that they are so good without any cheese and that's great since my son i lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is probably better if you follow it as is. I tried adding jalepeno and cilantro because I had them on hand. It turned out to be too overpowering. I ended up picking out the cilantro after I tried it. I also added a small can of mushrooms and that tasted great. I really like crabmeat, but I agree with others that chicken would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Nope not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
An ok base recipe. After taking most of the suggestions listed, plus a few changes of my own it barely resmbled the original. I dont think this would be very good as is but is a decent starting place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I was not a fan. These probably would have been better with real crab but I found that even with less imitation crab that was called for, there was still way to much. Plus is was really, really messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
It is very rich in flavor the crab meat really overpowers everything else. It was good, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States