Easy Crab Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Fast and easy. All four of us liked it. I did make a few modifications: I added a little wine after sauteing the garlic and onions to soften them a bit, threw in a chicken bouillon cube with the milk, and added some chopped chives in top of each serving. These all probably helped to boost the flavor a bit. I like the fact that you get the creaminess, but don't have to add the fat by using milk instead of cream. I will make this again, and would serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I read the other reviews about the sauce not being rich or thick enough, so I substituted about half heavy cream and half milk, I added a bit more garlic, parmesan (the real fresh stuff not the kind in the shaker can), and added some pepper and LOTS of Old Bay Seasoning. It was almost too thick so I added more milk. VERY delicious! I loved that this was sooo easy to make! I also found that it was more than enough for 6 people, I would say it should easily feed 8 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This is basically alfredo sauce...with crab in it. And you really can't go wrong with alfredo. I didn't have any onions, so I omitted that step. I did add some garlic saltpowder...because I LOVE garlic!! And added a bit more parmesan than called for. I also adjusted the recipe to two servings (because I only had one can of crab meat on hand)...it actually made more like 4 servings with plenty of sauce to go around. I've never added crab to my alfredo before...but it was pretty tasty. I think next time I'll throw in some green onions and perhaps fresh tomatoes for color...I'm a firm believer in adding green onions in with any sort of crab dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I added a little more salt and pepper to kill the blandness and also added frozen broccoli. The sauce was very thick, but good. The leftovers were better than the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Well, I have to say that I was disappointed with this dish. It was extremely tasteless. I managed to upgrade it to 'decent' only by adding quite a bit of garlic powder, Old Bay seasoning, salt, pepper, and parsley. I did like how nicely the sauce thickened, but I don't think I'll make this again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. i added about a cup of peas, a bunch of green peppers, mushrooms and extra garlic because i love garlic.... it was not too bland but i think without the extra stuff it might have been a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It was easy and after reading some reviews I did add white whine to the onions/garlic. seasoned with salt and pepper. I also added diced tomatoes because I like my Alfredo with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This is a deceptively simply basic recipe with lots of potential! After reading other reviews I tried some additions to "up" the flavor. I browned 4 oz of bacon with the onion, then added some fresh spinach at the end with a can of real crab. Altogether it was a hit with adults and kids alike, one of whom is an Italian exchange student! Buon Appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
This was a very quick and easy recipe but I think it needed some veggies, next time I will add broccili and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This was very good. I made very few changes, other than spicing it up a bit with old bay, and a little spicy pepper. It was great served hot out of the pan with garlic bread, and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States