Easy Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was tasty. I didn't use the full amount of sauce. Just enough to top the dip. I also subbed imitation crab for the real stuff. Dip came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I kind of combined recipes, using this one as my core recipe. I used 2 green onions instead of the small onion, used light cream cheese, added about a cup of cheddar cheese, fresh garlic, a couple T. mayo and a small amount of seasoning salt, left off the cocktail sauce and served it with crackers. I made a recipe and a half but doubled the crab. I thought the crab ratio was better. It was a good consistency with the added mayo and light cream cheese. People liked it and I would make it again. It had good flavor since some people complained of the lack of flavor. I think the flavor likely depends on the type of horseradish used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Absolutely love it! I made this for a Christmas party several years ago and lost the recipe. I was so happy to find it again. I substituted freshly chopped shrimp and and added extra. I'm a shrimp fanatic. It was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I reduced hot sauce to 1/2 tsp., used 2 green onions, no horseradish, about 8 oz. of cocktail sauce instead of 12, which was plenty. Then I read the reviews! I agree with one reviewer, you don't get much crabmeat taste with this. It's mostly just cream cheese and cocktail sauce. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This turned out sloppier than anticipated and the taste was a little bland. Next time, I would add more hot pepper sauce to kick it up and less cocktail sauce so that it's not quite so runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Double the crab meat & half the cocktail sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was very good and people loved it. I used less cocktail sauce because of previous reviews suggestions. It was great cold and not hard which I see from a lot of other dips. Perfect with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Thanks for a great base recipe. I have made this a couple of times and had no leftovers. Not being a fan of hot pepper sauce I omitted it and the cocktail sauce as it didn't sound that good. For more flavor and body I added celery (finely diced one time but second time used celery salt, either way works), diced egg, garlic, paprika, and dry mustard. First time used cream cheese but was out 2nd time so I used sour cream instead and it still came out great. My better half likes a little kick so I added a little Cajun seasoning. He loved it. Next time I will try adding the cocktail sauce as other reviewers said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I liked this recipe but will use a little less cocktail sauce in the future. An entire jar is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was delicious. I doubled the crab and didn't do the onion. The plate was quickly empty. Will continue to make this for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States