Easy Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was a pretty good recipe. I used 3 game hens, and adjusted the ingredients accordingly. Also added some baby carrots, and a chopped onion. They did come out of the crock pot super tender! But I think 8 hours on low was a little too long, they were done by around 6 hours (maybe because mine were partially thawed?). I then put them in the broiler for about 5 minutes to brown the skin, and it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Easy and very good. Instead of chicken breast which I am getting tired of, this is a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
easy as can be, meat falls off the bone & pretty good flavor. I was a little confused about how much lemon juice to use based on how this was written, but it all worked out. The biggest issue we had was that the hens do not get a nice color even though they are fully cooked so I took them out of the crock pot put them in a shallow pan & broiled for about 6 min. to get a nice crunch on the skin & good color so they didn't look raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I substituted the margarine for butter. I also added chicken seasoning to the hens. I put on high for 6 hours. The meat was falling off the bone! So juicy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great recipe. I added just a sprinkle of poultry seasoning. Tender, juicy and easy to make. I love slow cooker recipes. Just fix it and forget it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I made this as directed and it came out moist and really good but it was really no better than buying a baked rotisserie chicken at the grocery. It was way more expensive as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a simple and easy recipe that we all enjoyed. I modified it a bit; cooked a fryer chicken rather than 2 small game hens. I did not add the extra butter on top, but I think next time I would just to make the breasts extra-juicy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
it is easy but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this recipe last weekend with mushroom stuffing. The meat did fall off the bone and the flavor was excellent. The family all loved it. Oh, btw, I also cut the amount of butter almost in half. It still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States