Easy Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very delicious and tender. I didn't add all of the margarine but it was still very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal D Cobb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
So incredibly easy to make! Served it Superbowl night wth a steamed brocolli/carrot mix (as a healthier alternative to chips, pizza, etc.) Made a few alterations--use a low-sodium chix broth and unsalted butter, but only half of what was recommended. Use freshly squeezed lemon juice and some lemon zest in the seasoning (rub). Cooked on high for 4-hours, ever so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was a pretty good recipe. I used 3 game hens, and adjusted the ingredients accordingly. Also added some baby carrots, and a chopped onion. They did come out of the crock pot super tender! But I think 8 hours on low was a little too long, they were done by around 6 hours (maybe because mine were partially thawed?). I then put them in the broiler for about 5 minutes to brown the skin, and it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I made this as directed and it came out moist and really good but it was really no better than buying a baked rotisserie chicken at the grocery. It was way more expensive as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a simple and easy recipe that we all enjoyed. I modified it a bit; cooked a fryer chicken rather than 2 small game hens. I did not add the extra butter on top, but I think next time I would just to make the breasts extra-juicy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this recipe last weekend with mushroom stuffing. The meat did fall off the bone and the flavor was excellent. The family all loved it. Oh, btw, I also cut the amount of butter almost in half. It still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSI3
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! I took the advice of another reviewer and broiled it for about 10 minutes to golden up the skin. I did not measure the seasoning because I was on a time limit to prepare, I also added paprika, fines herbs and I used butter instead of margarine. I paired it with butternut risotto, cabbage, various veggies and gravy from the stock. Delicious. I was nicely surprised and will make it a regular in our meal rotation. I also used fresh lemon juice because I had none from concentrate. Thank you for sharing this masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and my husband couldn't stop raving! I am normally critical of my own cooking but found it so delicious! I made it with asparagus and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States