Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I thought this chowder was terrific. I agree with the previous reviewer who said there was too much flour, but I added more butter--4 tablespoons. I think it wants to be that thick, although you'll probably end up adding more milk. I also added 1/2 cup of chopped celery to the onions and bacon and a pinch of cayenne because I thought it needed a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This recipe was great. I followed everything EXACTLY except that I doubled everything except the flour and still had to thin it a little with more milk. I love that it's a creamy soup I can make with my regular 1% milk instead of half and half or heavy cream. My whole family loved it. I served it with Tabasco sauce on the side because I really like a little kick and it was great both with and without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
We LOVED this!!! I made a double recipe for my family and there was nothing left. We used leftover snow crab legs (peeled, of course). Ease off on the flour... it will be too thick, almost like a dip. We also added a bag of frozen peeled shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I also added Tony's seasoning and green onions in the last 5 minutes for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Wow. It was great. I actually added all the flour because I wanted it to be like chowder, and not like soup, and it turned out great. I added chicken & garlic and it tasted great... my husband loved it. I made it ahead and put in the crock pot. One thing I would suggest is cooking the potatoes longer before adding them. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfish1282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
My family loves this dish. And I brought it to church and they ate it up. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
So quick and tasty! The ingredients are standard in most pantries or fridges, which makes it a great last-minute dinner. I used imitation crab and canned milk as those were what I had on hand, and it still turned out so great. My 3-year old even loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
absolutly delicious!!! my family loved it and raved about it all night. I doubled the recipe...I added more bacon and more potatoes and less flour. Initially I used 2 and a half tbs of flour and then added just a bit more after the milk and the wine were mixed it, not nearly whats reccomened in the recipe...that would be WAY to much. this chowder is so tasty and moderatly easy to make. I would definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a quick, easy, and delicious recipe! My boyfriend loved it and he doesn't usually like chowder. My co-worker tasted my leftovers today and can't wait to make some herself. I took some of the recommendations from other reviewers by cutting the flour in half, and added some extra bacon and a sm. can of corn. I also added some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was definitely a make again. I used chicken broth instead of wine and imitation crab. Also I added a little garlic salt for seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
you def have to add extra milk and not as much flour or it gets really thick. i added about 25 cooked shrimp right at the end. also alot of old bay gave it a really good spicy flavor. really good soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States