Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This is a good recipe but it takes awhile to prepare. Also, I had to start over because 1/3 cup is too much flour! I reduced it to two tablespoons flour to two tablespoons butter and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
this soup tasted like paste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I thought this chowder was terrific. I agree with the previous reviewer who said there was too much flour, but I added more butter--4 tablespoons. I think it wants to be that thick, although you'll probably end up adding more milk. I also added 1/2 cup of chopped celery to the onions and bacon and a pinch of cayenne because I thought it needed a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
We LOVED this!!! I made a double recipe for my family and there was nothing left. We used leftover snow crab legs (peeled, of course). Ease off on the flour... it will be too thick, almost like a dip. We also added a bag of frozen peeled shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I also added Tony's seasoning and green onions in the last 5 minutes for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
So quick and tasty! The ingredients are standard in most pantries or fridges, which makes it a great last-minute dinner. I used imitation crab and canned milk as those were what I had on hand, and it still turned out so great. My 3-year old even loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was great chowder. It was fast and easy. I only used 3 tablespoons of flour and I still ended up adding more milk then it called for. I cannot imagine what 1/3 cup of flour would do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
absolutly delicious!!! my family loved it and raved about it all night. I doubled the recipe...I added more bacon and more potatoes and less flour. Initially I used 2 and a half tbs of flour and then added just a bit more after the milk and the wine were mixed it, not nearly whats reccomened in the recipe...that would be WAY to much. this chowder is so tasty and moderatly easy to make. I would definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Very quick and tasty. I doubled the recipe, using a can of niblets in addition to creamed corn, and reduced the flour to 1/4 cup. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This recipe was great. I followed everything EXACTLY except that I doubled everything except the flour and still had to thin it a little with more milk. I love that it's a creamy soup I can make with my regular 1% milk instead of half and half or heavy cream. My whole family loved it. I served it with Tabasco sauce on the side because I really like a little kick and it was great both with and without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
My husband and I loved this! I followed everyone's advice and did not add that much flour. I also added some crushed red pepper. It gave it a nice kick! Next time, I will microwave the potatoes a little longer - they didn't cook all the way through. This would also be great with shrimp or even vegetarian. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States