Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I was looking for a recipe to use up leftovers and make some modifications to fit what I had. I used cooked shrimp instead of crab, 1 cup of water instead of wine, 2 potatoes, added garlic salt, and used leftover fried corn instead of individual bacon slices and creamed corn. I used two tablespoons of flour. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citronelle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I want to love this recipe. I really do. I had a crab/corn chowder from the grocery store and thought "I can make this." I do agree that the flour is an issue. I ended up winging it. I kept adding tsp until it looked right, so I doubt I added 1/3 cup. And I still ended up adding twice the milk! Also, I wanna know what kind of microwave they have that 30 sec in the microwave is enough to do anything to potatoes. My potatoes could have been softer, but all in all it did end up good. I'm gonna have to work on the recipe next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Delicious.....but I did make some adjustments. I wanted a big pot of soup....I cooked turkey bacon in evoo, removed and set aside. In the same pot I sauteed onion, celery, diced red pepper, and cubed baby reds (about 4),salt and pepper for about 5-7 minutes. I added some flour and added 4 c. fat free chix broth and let that simmer until taters were tender. I added about 1c. frozen white corn, and 2c. fat free half and half, old bay seasoning and 4 cans of crab meat. Let that simmer and I did use a little cornstarch and water to thicken a little more. I like a thick chowder. Very tasty, great on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
you def have to add extra milk and not as much flour or it gets really thick. i added about 25 cooked shrimp right at the end. also alot of old bay gave it a really good spicy flavor. really good soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
First of all, I used all the flour & thought it was fine that way. I guess I expect a chowder to be thick and not like a soup. I've made it twice and did it the same both times. Good flavor. But I have issues with the recipe itself. Potatoes do NOT get done in 30 seconds in a microwave. And they need stirred. Next time I'll just boil them in water as it seems easier. And I can use the same pan I make the chowder in. Speaking of which, this is also a waste of pans. I cooked the bacon in the same pan & just set it aside on a plate. (Easier to wash than another pan. And extra bacon grease can be wiped out easily enough before moving on.) So same pan all the way through and much easier to deal with. And bouillon cubes don't really dissolve in cold milk that easily. Easier to use the grandule kind and dump in w/everything else & it'll dissolve fine. I think the end results are well worth it, but it's *not* a last-minute supper as one person said. Too many steps involved. The taste got a 4 but I dumped it to a 3 due to the convoluted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This was a tasty chowder! Because my husband and I don't eat meat, I sauteed the onions in olive oil instead of the bacon fat. I also substitued about 1 tsp. of Vegebase for the chicken bouillon (fyi, I increased the recipe to make 8 servings). As for most of the other reviewers, the chowder was WAY too thick even though I reduced the flour to 1/2 C. To thin out the chowder, I added about 1 C. of No-Chicken Broth. I will definitely make this again. I might even consider adding some more crab next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeruleanGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
My family loves this dish. And I brought it to church and they ate it up. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I used snow crab (i peel off the shells) to make the soup. Family thought it was okay. It was quick and easy. It was a nice one time deal. I wouldnt make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good! I too changed the amount of flour to 3 tbsp, and I still had to thin it a bit. I added Old Bay, used fresh parsley (all I had), and when I make it next time, will saute in garlic along with the onions. Thanks for the recipe and for all of the great tips from other reviwers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was definitely a make again. I used chicken broth instead of wine and imitation crab. Also I added a little garlic salt for seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States