Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made a couple of adjustments: I used a left-over plain baked potato & 3/4 pound grilled snow crab meat that was about a day old. It was delicious!!! It was served with hot bread and lots of fresh cracked pepper. Extra points for being so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I had leftover crab meat that I was trying to find a use for. This will be a permanent recipe for me now. It was very very thick with all the flour but I just added a little milk to get it to my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I mistakingly did NOT read the reviews before I cooked this and MAN there was WAY too much flour. It turned out like glue. My husband LOVED and I really did NOT like it. I won't make it again but maybe it's better with less flour, I'm not an experienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
FANTASTIC! Made it just by the recipe only tripled it. Next time I will double but that is the ONLY change. It's good reheated and topped with cheese. May have to add milk when reheating. I tried this again over the weekend and found that u can use frozen hashbrowns instead of washing and cutting up potatoes. So much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Really tasty. I doubled the amount of crab (12 oz)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
very good! my kids loved it. it was a little rich so i added about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth to thin it out. i would definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I have been looking for a corn chowder recipe and this one fit perfectly. The only adjustments I made were to use 4 TBSP of butter, added some Old Bay to taste, chopped garlic and chopped up celery. It does take some time but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a great recipe for a windy, cold Fall night. I doubled it for my family of six and we had 2 servings left over. I sauteed the onion with garlic cloves in olive oil, set aside and wiped out excess oil, then started the butter melting in the same stock pot. I kept the flour and did not find it to be too thick. I also added chicken bouillon granules after the flour was mixed when I added the cooking sherry. I used one can of evaporated milk and the rest regular 1% milk. Instead of cubed potatoes, I used leftover dutch potato recipe (recipe on this site) which is a mashed carrot and potato mixture. That step made it much easier. We had turkey bacon as a garnish, but it did not need it. We served it with a Elaine's mom's homemade bread recipe from this site. I love crab and will definitely try it again with that addition, but it can be a great vegetarian meal as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This recipe was great! I did decrease the bacon, add more potatoes, subbed chicken broth for the wine, and used a little less flour. But this recipe was a great starting point and very easy to make. It turned out great. Even my six and four year old ate it, which is saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States