Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made a couple of adjustments: I used a left-over plain baked potato & 3/4 pound grilled snow crab meat that was about a day old. It was delicious!!! It was served with hot bread and lots of fresh cracked pepper. Extra points for being so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I had leftover crab meat that I was trying to find a use for. This will be a permanent recipe for me now. It was very very thick with all the flour but I just added a little milk to get it to my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I mistakingly did NOT read the reviews before I cooked this and MAN there was WAY too much flour. It turned out like glue. My husband LOVED and I really did NOT like it. I won't make it again but maybe it's better with less flour, I'm not an experienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allthatca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
FANTASTIC! Made it just by the recipe only tripled it. Next time I will double but that is the ONLY change. It's good reheated and topped with cheese. May have to add milk when reheating. I tried this again over the weekend and found that u can use frozen hashbrowns instead of washing and cutting up potatoes. So much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Really tasty. I doubled the amount of crab (12 oz)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
very good! my kids loved it. it was a little rich so i added about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth to thin it out. i would definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I have been looking for a corn chowder recipe and this one fit perfectly. The only adjustments I made were to use 4 TBSP of butter, added some Old Bay to taste, chopped garlic and chopped up celery. It does take some time but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a great recipe for a windy, cold Fall night. I doubled it for my family of six and we had 2 servings left over. I sauteed the onion with garlic cloves in olive oil, set aside and wiped out excess oil, then started the butter melting in the same stock pot. I kept the flour and did not find it to be too thick. I also added chicken bouillon granules after the flour was mixed when I added the cooking sherry. I used one can of evaporated milk and the rest regular 1% milk. Instead of cubed potatoes, I used leftover dutch potato recipe (recipe on this site) which is a mashed carrot and potato mixture. That step made it much easier. We had turkey bacon as a garnish, but it did not need it. We served it with a Elaine's mom's homemade bread recipe from this site. I love crab and will definitely try it again with that addition, but it can be a great vegetarian meal as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This recipe was great! I did decrease the bacon, add more potatoes, subbed chicken broth for the wine, and used a little less flour. But this recipe was a great starting point and very easy to make. It turned out great. Even my six and four year old ate it, which is saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States