Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Potatoes not done in that time, way too thick (thinned considerably with milk), kicked up the flavor with red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
After I browned the bacon, I removed it and some of the dripping. Then I fried the onion in the dripping. When the onions were transparent, I added the flour to the onions. I then slowly added the white wine. When all is done, I added the crab meat so it wouldn't be over-cooked. Basically it's one pot chowder. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this recipe the way it was written and then had to change A LOT to make it something my family would like. I added at least double the crab, extra potatoes, some Old Bay (it was pretty bland), and a lot more milk. I think most of the extras may have been unnecessary if I had just cut back on the flour in the beginning. I wasn't looking for the consistency of soup but WOW that was a thick chowder. Also, PLEASE DO NOT MICROWAVE PLASTIC WRAP. I nuked several small/medium potatoes (just sitting on a plate) for six minutes after poking them with a fork and they were perfect. After all of the changes, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This recipe is really good. When you cater it to your own tastes, it's stellar. Next time I'm going to double the crab, and prob lose some bacon, because I think it tastes more like an Easy Corn and Bacon Chowder. Which, obviously, my husband isn't complaining about. ;D But I loves me my seafood. I've had much success with cooking the bacon first, then crushing into pieces once it's cooled. The other times I made this, I spent 30 minutes just trying to cut the uncooked fatty bacon into pieces. If you like potatoes, use two, and cook them fully in the microwave. Not 30 seconds - It'll take a few minutes. If you like a soupier chowder (opposed to a thick saucy one), use less flour. I think I use 3-4 TBS. Definitely crush the bouillon cube before dissolving in milk; otherwise use powdered bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
this was a good fast quick supper. I really enjoyed it. However I think it needed way more crab meat. Also after reading the reviews about the the amount of flour it called for, I just winged it and and added enough to make a good base. It was kinda bland so I added Old Bay seasoning and garlic and crushed red pepper. I also added a can of whole corn like others had suggested. Thanks for giving me this base recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was good. I used 4 potatoes bec 1 is not enough for 4 people. I only used 2 tbsp flour and then I added about 1/2 cup of heavy cream bec I needed to use it up. I omitted the wine. Used 1 tbsp of powdered chicken bouillon instead of cube. Just keep adding more milk or crab until you feel it's right. I didn't have bacon so I used about 5 tbsp of real bacon bits and it's a much easier way to deal with the bacon. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great, easy recipe!! We used fresh bluecrab meat that we had coaght in the Outer Banks. It was a BIG hit with all 12 adults that we had. Definitely be careful keep an eye on the creamed corn. Too much sweet creamed corn can really sweeten it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I had some leftover steamed crabs that needed to be used and wanted a quick and easy recipe for crab and corn chowder. I didn't expect the end result to be so tasty. I highly recommed this recipe to anyone who's looking for a restaurant-quality Corn and Crab Chowder recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made a couple of adjustments: I used a left-over plain baked potato & 3/4 pound grilled snow crab meat that was about a day old. It was delicious!!! It was served with hot bread and lots of fresh cracked pepper. Extra points for being so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I had leftover crab meat that I was trying to find a use for. This will be a permanent recipe for me now. It was very very thick with all the flour but I just added a little milk to get it to my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States