Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Loved it! I've been looking for a recipe that rivaled the corn chowder they used to serve at a local resturaunt, and this is it. So eay to make, I also used canned potatos so could skip that step. I just threw everything together in one big pot and let it simmer for a while. The only thing I added was a little bit of garlic, and about a cup of sharp cheddar cheese right before I took it off the stove. My fiance loved it. I loved it. I will definately be making this one again, and often. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Loved this recipe!! I doubled, we are a family of 9. I used canned potatoes so I skipped that chore. I also sauted some celery with the onion in olive oil, skipped the water bit. Then added a bit of chicken flavored boullion powder after the milk. All tolled it was ready in around 30 min tops, from start to finish! It is so easy to change and enhance. I would try adding dill next time or mabey green chilies for a spicier version, no cayene use a splash of tabasco. You are NOT going to mess up this one. This is a great spur of the moment adder to a meal or pot luck. Kathar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Good basic recipe to start with. I added more potatoes, and also a few carrots. Threw in a handful of cheese at the end. Definitely needed more salt but pretty good basic soup for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I add a large can of chicken, making a Chicken-Corn Chowder. My daughter especially loves this chowder, but it gets a "thumbs up" with everyone. I make it often during the winter - it's a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This chowder is easy to make and great tasting. Will keep this as one of my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was pretty good! I added a package of chopped ham and I was happy with the result!! Got rave reviews from my step father! My name says it all and I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This corn chowder was EASY, CHEAP, NUTRITIOUS and DELICIOUS. I am a busy mom on a budget so those are pretty much my main criteria for recipes and this one met them all (and then some!). Since I didn't have cayenne pepper, I used tabasco. I increased the celery to 3/4 cup for extra veggies, and tossed in a tablespoon of butter and a little garlic salt just for flavor. I think I spent about $7 on the ingredients and spent about 10 minutes in the kitchen. My husband (who hates having soup for dinner, especially vegetarian soup), liked it so much he's been eating the leftovers cold out of the fridge. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe is unbelievable. I have been making Corn Chowder for as long as I can remember, and never did I make it with 7 ingredients plus cayenne if you like. Oddly enough though it tastes the exact same. Sometimes I sprinkle cooked bacon on the top right before I serve it and sometimes I put cooked chicken breast in it to make it a lttle heartier. Either way though, the soup is wonderful, with or without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Awesome. Very high reward to effort ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
A great soup. Easy as anything to make, you can modify the spices as you see fit, and the consistency is super. A meal in a bowl! I made this for my father, who loved it, and my boyfriend, who ate 2&1/2 bowls (somewhere around half the pot!) Great the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States