Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This could easily be a 5 star if it had more flavor. Sugar, salt, cheese????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Even with the addition of the cayenne pepper this chowder is pretty bland. I added some dill and a handful of crumbled bacon but it was still lacking flavor. It might be better to saute the onions and celery in a little butter rather than boiling them with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I add a large can of chicken, making a Chicken-Corn Chowder. My daughter especially loves this chowder, but it gets a "thumbs up" with everyone. I make it often during the winter - it's a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Loved it! I've been looking for a recipe that rivaled the corn chowder they used to serve at a local resturaunt, and this is it. So eay to make, I also used canned potatos so could skip that step. I just threw everything together in one big pot and let it simmer for a while. The only thing I added was a little bit of garlic, and about a cup of sharp cheddar cheese right before I took it off the stove. My fiance loved it. I loved it. I will definately be making this one again, and often. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This chowder was alright, but I wasn't thrilled. I felt it was lacking something, but I didn't know what to add to it to make it better as I'm not an experienced cook who intuitively knows how to change a recipe. I would try other recipes before making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
We really enjoyed this dish. I popped it in the crockpot with some extra potatoes, left it in for about 4 hours on high. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Awesome. Very high reward to effort ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I used half and half instead of the condensed milk and added 8oz of salt pork, browned in a skillet to this recipe. Froze some for later - rich and tasty for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was a good basic recipe, good for the creative cook. It gave me an easy jumping off point to make a corn chowder the way I would like it. I substituted the celery for a red bell pepper, the cayenne for tabsco sauce and added bacon, canned crab and a bag of shredded "mexican style" cheese to thicken it. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Very good! I didn't have red onion, so I used yellow (I think). It came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States