Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jessicca
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was a good, easy recipe. I would have given it 5 stars, it tasted really good, but it ended up being more like potato soup than corn chowder. I added about 1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese to make it cheesy. Next time I will add a can, or even two, of corn to make it more like corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
so easy. always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Wonderful! I took some of the review advise and used 1 can of whole corn & 1 cream corn. For the soup 1 cream of potato & 1 cheddar cheese. Since I was doubling,instead of using all "6" cups liquid as milk, I used 3 cups chicken broth. A thickening trick I use on my potato soup is to sprinkle in real potato flakes (1/4 - 1/2 cup) this makes it velvetey smooth. I will make this soup again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty and easy! I used cream of celery and one cup of water instead of one of the cups of milk to try to reduce the calories a bit. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very tasty, easy recipe. Only change I made was using kernal corn instead of cream-style. Had corn from our farmer's market I wanted to use. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I thought this corn chowder was good, but not great. Definitely not the restaurant quality I was looking for. It is a good basic recipe that could use some tweaking to give it what it's missing. Next time I'll experiment with different seasonings to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Very easy and yummy! A perfect busy evening meal! I only did 2 1/2 cups of milk, and I added a bag of frozen corn to make it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe is super simple and tastes amazing....I did substitute a can of cream of celery for the mushroom, however noone had a clue. Tastes like it took hours to make!! Oh, and it's even better then next day and the the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a really good tasting corn chowder. I made like the recipe but did add a can of whole kernel corn and a finely chopped carrot. My husband who really is not a fan of corn chowder really enjoyed this basic recipe.I will make again and again, Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe is so quck and easy we were so surprised how yummy it came out. Everytme we use ths recipe we try something different such as usng cream corn, heavy cream, sweet onons, maple flavored bacon, red potatoes...Delicious! This recipe will not disappoint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States