Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I did add the cream corn but i also added about 1 cup of frozen to add just a bit more color and the fact that I love corn! Other than that this recipe was great! Will make again and again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I did tweak this just a bit, but I have to say, I was shocked at how good it was! I used bacon drippings instead of actual pieces of bacon - not a big fan of bacon chunks - and that added a nice flavor, but I think it would have been fine without it. I also forgot to buy creamed corn so I made my own by cooking 10 oz of corn in 1 cup of milk, adding 1 tbsp. sugar, 1 tsp salt and pepper to taste; brought to a boil and then added a paste made of 1 tbsp. butter, 1 tbsp. flour and a little milk, then continued cooking until thick. I have to say, next time I'll try it the canned way just to see, but doing the corn this way was very tasty and not that much more time-consuming. It eliminated the need for additional corn that many reviewers talked about, and gave the soup a really deep corn flavor. I used the condensed potato soup - now if only there were a homemade swap for that one that was as easy as the creamed corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Delicious!! Even my 3 year old loved it. I did not add any salt as I figured there was enough from the can of mushroom soup and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was such a simple recipe and my husband loved it! That's saying a TON because he is very picky! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was even better the next day! This will be my new corn chowder recipe! **Update** 12/22/08 Made this again and it was still tasty, although I think I would wait to put the bacon in until right before serving. It was soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
this turned out really well :) i did have to substitute a bit, which i rarely do. started w/maple bacon and browned it w/onion. only had 1 can cream of mushroom soup - no creamed corn :( so, i added mushroom soup and can of regular corn w/a little half and half and extra milk. used skim milk and it turned out great. also added a bit of chicken broth and minced garlic. didn't have potatoes - of course - so i cooked egg noodles in the soup. pasta starch helped to thicken the soup. lastly added shredded poached chicken thighs at the end... and a pinch or two of sugar :) i never make this many modifications, but it was raining, i wanted soup and didn't feel like going to the store... very lazy. in any event, it just goes to show how versitile this recipe is :) DH looooved the flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this chowder for a bible study we had. everyone loved it...BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessicca
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was a good, easy recipe. I would have given it 5 stars, it tasted really good, but it ended up being more like potato soup than corn chowder. I added about 1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese to make it cheesy. Next time I will add a can, or even two, of corn to make it more like corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
so easy. always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Wonderful! I took some of the review advise and used 1 can of whole corn & 1 cream corn. For the soup 1 cream of potato & 1 cheddar cheese. Since I was doubling,instead of using all "6" cups liquid as milk, I used 3 cups chicken broth. A thickening trick I use on my potato soup is to sprinkle in real potato flakes (1/4 - 1/2 cup) this makes it velvetey smooth. I will make this soup again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty and easy! I used cream of celery and one cup of water instead of one of the cups of milk to try to reduce the calories a bit. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States