Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was such a simple recipe and my husband loved it! That's saying a TON because he is very picky! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was even better the next day! This will be my new corn chowder recipe! **Update** 12/22/08 Made this again and it was still tasty, although I think I would wait to put the bacon in until right before serving. It was soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
this turned out really well :) i did have to substitute a bit, which i rarely do. started w/maple bacon and browned it w/onion. only had 1 can cream of mushroom soup - no creamed corn :( so, i added mushroom soup and can of regular corn w/a little half and half and extra milk. used skim milk and it turned out great. also added a bit of chicken broth and minced garlic. didn't have potatoes - of course - so i cooked egg noodles in the soup. pasta starch helped to thicken the soup. lastly added shredded poached chicken thighs at the end... and a pinch or two of sugar :) i never make this many modifications, but it was raining, i wanted soup and didn't feel like going to the store... very lazy. in any event, it just goes to show how versitile this recipe is :) DH looooved the flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this chowder for a bible study we had. everyone loved it...BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessicca
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was a good, easy recipe. I would have given it 5 stars, it tasted really good, but it ended up being more like potato soup than corn chowder. I added about 1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese to make it cheesy. Next time I will add a can, or even two, of corn to make it more like corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
so easy. always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Wonderful! I took some of the review advise and used 1 can of whole corn & 1 cream corn. For the soup 1 cream of potato & 1 cheddar cheese. Since I was doubling,instead of using all "6" cups liquid as milk, I used 3 cups chicken broth. A thickening trick I use on my potato soup is to sprinkle in real potato flakes (1/4 - 1/2 cup) this makes it velvetey smooth. I will make this soup again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty and easy! I used cream of celery and one cup of water instead of one of the cups of milk to try to reduce the calories a bit. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very tasty, easy recipe. Only change I made was using kernal corn instead of cream-style. Had corn from our farmer's market I wanted to use. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I thought this corn chowder was good, but not great. Definitely not the restaurant quality I was looking for. It is a good basic recipe that could use some tweaking to give it what it's missing. Next time I'll experiment with different seasonings to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Very easy and yummy! A perfect busy evening meal! I only did 2 1/2 cups of milk, and I added a bag of frozen corn to make it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States