Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this and used frsh corn that was just a little old for on the cob. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
used an extra cup of milk, two and a half cans of mushroom soup, added shredded cheese and Fake Bacon (for us vegetarians) and since we didnt have a lot of time we used canned potatoes omitted the onion and added extra pepper...will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrelgurl07

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachie-Pooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
THIS WAS REALLY GOOD! I DID LEAVE OUT THE BACON AND WOULD PROBABLY TRY ADDING CHEDDAR SOUP NEXT TIME INSTEAD OF THE CREAM OF MUSHROOM. I ALSO CUT THE KERNELS OFF OF TWO FRESH EARS OF CORN AND ADDED THAT, AND I THINK THAT MADE THE SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I love this recipe! Sometimes I make some roux to add to this, it's a bit thin for a chowder. I also add some red pepper flakes for a little warmth, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was great... I did add a can of drained regular corn, the cream of potato instead of mushroom, extra bacon and 2 big bakers potato..Really tasted wonderful and VERY easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great chowder! Four stars due to the changes I made... I also used Cream of Potato, added an extra can of whole kernel corn with juice and used about 2x the potatoes. I also added the crumbled bacon to each serving instead of cooking it in the soup, along with some grated sharp cheddar and sour cream. A huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This is a fast and easy chowder, just what I was looking for. I made it exactly as written. Rich and creamy with a smoky flavor from the bacon, great balance. I was a little nervous about cooking a cream based soup for 25 minutes or more, but it was fine. I watched and stirred pretty carefully until it came to a boil then reduced the heat as low as possible. I cooked it covered for 5-10 minutes but the lid kept it boiling too vigorously so I cooked it the rest of the time without a lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I needed to double the recipe for my family. When I started cooking there were so many reasons to go wrong. First I didn't have an onion, then I had only one potato. I finally used 2 TBSP onion powder, the one onion, 1 1/2 cups potato flakes. I added a stalk of celery to try and get the chunk that I was missing. I used frozen corn instead of frozen and only one can of cheddar cheese soup (remember I was doubling the recipe) but I didn't have another can of condensed soup. Believe it or not, with all the substitutions, it turned out good enough for my husband to have seconds (and he doesn't do that unless he likes it). All in all a success even with all my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
a good base recipe,needed a little tweaking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedthecrowd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States