Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
THIS WAS REALLY GOOD! I DID LEAVE OUT THE BACON AND WOULD PROBABLY TRY ADDING CHEDDAR SOUP NEXT TIME INSTEAD OF THE CREAM OF MUSHROOM. I ALSO CUT THE KERNELS OFF OF TWO FRESH EARS OF CORN AND ADDED THAT, AND I THINK THAT MADE THE SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I love this recipe! Sometimes I make some roux to add to this, it's a bit thin for a chowder. I also add some red pepper flakes for a little warmth, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was great... I did add a can of drained regular corn, the cream of potato instead of mushroom, extra bacon and 2 big bakers potato..Really tasted wonderful and VERY easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great chowder! Four stars due to the changes I made... I also used Cream of Potato, added an extra can of whole kernel corn with juice and used about 2x the potatoes. I also added the crumbled bacon to each serving instead of cooking it in the soup, along with some grated sharp cheddar and sour cream. A huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This is a fast and easy chowder, just what I was looking for. I made it exactly as written. Rich and creamy with a smoky flavor from the bacon, great balance. I was a little nervous about cooking a cream based soup for 25 minutes or more, but it was fine. I watched and stirred pretty carefully until it came to a boil then reduced the heat as low as possible. I cooked it covered for 5-10 minutes but the lid kept it boiling too vigorously so I cooked it the rest of the time without a lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I needed to double the recipe for my family. When I started cooking there were so many reasons to go wrong. First I didn't have an onion, then I had only one potato. I finally used 2 TBSP onion powder, the one onion, 1 1/2 cups potato flakes. I added a stalk of celery to try and get the chunk that I was missing. I used frozen corn instead of frozen and only one can of cheddar cheese soup (remember I was doubling the recipe) but I didn't have another can of condensed soup. Believe it or not, with all the substitutions, it turned out good enough for my husband to have seconds (and he doesn't do that unless he likes it). All in all a success even with all my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
a good base recipe,needed a little tweaking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedthecrowd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I did add the cream corn but i also added about 1 cup of frozen to add just a bit more color and the fact that I love corn! Other than that this recipe was great! Will make again and again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I did tweak this just a bit, but I have to say, I was shocked at how good it was! I used bacon drippings instead of actual pieces of bacon - not a big fan of bacon chunks - and that added a nice flavor, but I think it would have been fine without it. I also forgot to buy creamed corn so I made my own by cooking 10 oz of corn in 1 cup of milk, adding 1 tbsp. sugar, 1 tsp salt and pepper to taste; brought to a boil and then added a paste made of 1 tbsp. butter, 1 tbsp. flour and a little milk, then continued cooking until thick. I have to say, next time I'll try it the canned way just to see, but doing the corn this way was very tasty and not that much more time-consuming. It eliminated the need for additional corn that many reviewers talked about, and gave the soup a really deep corn flavor. I used the condensed potato soup - now if only there were a homemade swap for that one that was as easy as the creamed corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Delicious!! Even my 3 year old loved it. I did not add any salt as I figured there was enough from the can of mushroom soup and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States