Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
The perfect simple base recipe. I've made this several different ways now but the biggest hit is when make it Chicken Corn Chowder by doubling the recipe and using one can cream of potato, one can cream of chicken. Instead of doubling the milk, I do the original amount plus a box of chicken stock. I am obsessed with carrots in soup so I add a hefty amount as well as some sauteed and lightly seasoned chicken right at the end. So good! O, and while in season, I always roast up a few cobs of corn to add. Just cut off the kernels (don't forget to milk the cob for all the sweetest bits!) and toss them in for a chowder so fresh no one will doubt it isn't totally from scratch. I also like to let this simmer for a while so that everything has a real chance to come together. Some people seem hesitant to do so as long as you make sure it is a very low simmer and stir every ten-fifteen minutes, you should do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This turned out pretty awesome. I doubled the all of the ingredients except the milk and the onions. I used ham (left over from Easter) instead of bacon, and I added 1 clove of garlic. I was SUPER paranoid about scalding the milk, so I parboiled the potatoes whole before cutting them into cubes. While that was going on, I sautéed the ham, onions, and garlic. When the potatoes were just soft enough to cut, discarded the water and cubed the potatoes. I added the potatoes, onion mixture, and ham to the pot; mixed in the milk and potatoes; brought the soup up to a boil, then turned off the fire, covered the pot, and let the residual heat warm the soup through and finish the potatoes. Super easy and super yummy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Quick and easy to make. I used sausage instead of bacon, and I didn't find the need to add any oil, since there was plenty of fat in the meat. We're not big on potatoes, so instead of chopped potatoes, which some reviewers said didn't cook through, I added a few tablespoons of mashed potato flakes. You don't need a lot to thicken the recipe. Great way to cut down calories. Overall, the dish was good, and a great winter soup. I just don't feel that it was special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this vegetarian without the bacon and it was still delicious! It's so easy. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
it wasn't great but I added real potatoes with 2 cans of whole kernel and cream style corn! I put in pinch of Cheyenne pepper, 1 tbsp of basil and oregano! After I did all that still didn't like it :(!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great chowder, especially on cold evening. Tasted great and was fairly easy to cook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was my first try at any Corn Chowder! I improvised with what I had in my pantry. I Used 1 can of Cream of Potato soup instead of mushrrom soup and added no more potatoes, aside with what was in soup. 1 1/2 cups of cooked Frozen corn. Added a few shakes of Tony Chachere, Garlic salt instead of salt and a few shakes of cumin. Was VERY TASTY!!! My non soup liking husband LIKED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I used others suggestions with the cream of potato soup and used fresh corn from my garden! What a wonderful and satisfying meal and not to mention a new way to utilize all the corn I have. P.S. It's even better the next day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Lovely simple recipe! I added some pasta to make it a hearty filling meal. Cheap and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
this is a delicious recipe and you can add anything to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States