Easy Corn Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was great, used users suggestions and added frozen corn and garlic. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing. So easy and so good. I used cream of chicken soup and it turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi DeMille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this last night while it was snowing...I wanted something hot! I didn't have any bacon, which I think would have made it even better, but my husband loved it! He said it was better than any potato soup I have made-and I make an awesome potato soup! He ate the leftovers for lunch today. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Wow.I generally avoid using cream of mushroom soup in anything but I was short on time. I only had a can of regular corn so I dumped in the blender for about 30 seconds before adding it to the soup. Even without the bacon it was delicious! Can't wait to make it again for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I tweaked this recipe a little bit. I used cream of chicken rather than cream of mushroom. I also used leftover ham instead of bacon. Still was a great recipe. It was a hit with my children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very good and simple to make. I used a few too many potatoes. Next time I'll add more corn. I didn't add any salt or pepper (my preference). You have to be sure to stir it often and don't heat it too quickly. It reheats in the microwave well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was an easy recipe to prepare and very tasty with fresh baked corn muffins that I put in the oven before starting the chowder. I improvised by using some Thanksgiving dinner leftovers -- diced ham and mashed potato instead of bacon and diced potatoes. The mashed potato made the chowder thicker, which the family prefers, and cut the simmer time down to 10 minutes, just as the muffins were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becks' Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Great soup. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used cream of potato soup instead of mushroom, and added a cup of frozen corn. Delicious. The only thing I will do differently next time is add more potatoes, and maybe another cup of corn (just because I like lots of veggies). Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
The perfect simple base recipe. I've made this several different ways now but the biggest hit is when make it Chicken Corn Chowder by doubling the recipe and using one can cream of potato, one can cream of chicken. Instead of doubling the milk, I do the original amount plus a box of chicken stock. I am obsessed with carrots in soup so I add a hefty amount as well as some sauteed and lightly seasoned chicken right at the end. So good! O, and while in season, I always roast up a few cobs of corn to add. Just cut off the kernels (don't forget to milk the cob for all the sweetest bits!) and toss them in for a chowder so fresh no one will doubt it isn't totally from scratch. I also like to let this simmer for a while so that everything has a real chance to come together. Some people seem hesitant to do so as long as you make sure it is a very low simmer and stir every ten-fifteen minutes, you should do just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This turned out pretty awesome. I doubled the all of the ingredients except the milk and the onions. I used ham (left over from Easter) instead of bacon, and I added 1 clove of garlic. I was SUPER paranoid about scalding the milk, so I parboiled the potatoes whole before cutting them into cubes. While that was going on, I sautéed the ham, onions, and garlic. When the potatoes were just soft enough to cut, discarded the water and cubed the potatoes. I added the potatoes, onion mixture, and ham to the pot; mixed in the milk and potatoes; brought the soup up to a boil, then turned off the fire, covered the pot, and let the residual heat warm the soup through and finish the potatoes. Super easy and super yummy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States