Easy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I was skeptical because of how basic this recipe is, but these cookies are AWESOME! One thing to make sure of is to not overcook them! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and kept a watchful eye on them. I cooked them for 9 minutes and went back to check: they didn't look done so I cooked them for another 1.5-2 minutes and they still didn't look done, but I took them out anyways. Turns out I cooked them just right; they just look different because of the cake batter part, I think. I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle Severson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These turned out fabulous!!! I read a review that someone had a problem with making these...they are simple and fool-proof and I cannot understand how they could mess 'em up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe calls for an 18.25 box of cake mix. Be careful as the all the cake mix companies are chiseling you now and making smaller boxes so the proportion of other ingredients may be off for those that are saying the recipe didn't work for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I thought this recipe was great.I was a bit concerned when I read a Dec. 28, 2010 review. In any event, I had the ingredients and tried it anyway. It was so......easy. My son and I had Mother and Son time (as we call quality time) while we dipped the balls in sugar before baking. I even became a little daring by adding molasses to the last few cookies(next time I will make sure I add ginger but other than that it was um um good.) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
My sister wanted to make cookies and i looked up easy cookies. I saw this recipe and wanted to try it. My mom got some cake mix from a friend (confetti) we put it together and they were perfect!The sugar did not burn the dough was stiff and they were delicious. i would reccomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Really good. I didn't know how these would turn out but they were really fast and good. I used a devil's food cake, no extras...not even the sugar and they were soft and chewy. I made one tray and then mixed in choco chips for the next tray. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
For a cookie recipe using a boxed cake mix, this was good. They do leave something to be desired- also they flatten out a lot. The ease is what I was going for, and that they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Perfect for a super-fast, easy cookie. I added mint chocolate chips and only dipped the top in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I love this recipe - so easy and yummy! I make a few minor changes. I sub 1/2 cup shortening + 1/2 cup margarine for the 1 cup butter and 2 whole eggs rather than just yolks (helps keep them from flattening). I also do not roll in sugar since I add 1 cup of chocolate chips. This recipe makes 2.5 dozen if you use a medium size icecream scoop. try: carrot cake with white chocolate chips fudge cake with chocolate chips party rainbow cake with mini choc chips choc cake with pb chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I tried these with Funfetti cake mix. They looked okay, and were soft, but the flavor just wasn't very good. They tasted somewhat like store bought cookie dough, which I never buy because the flavor is so lacking! Plus, these were not THAT much easier than authentic homemade cookies. Overall, I was disappointed, and I would have rather had cupcakes and saved the pound of butter for a better cookie. (And trust me, there are MANY on this site!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States