Easy Cola Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I changed this recipe around a bit. I cooked the whole thing in the crockpot for about 7 hours and it was delicious. I used 4 chicken thighs instead of breasts. I went heavy on the Worchestshire sauce and only used 2 tablespoons of ketchup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasigrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
On the UK "Slimming World" diet. My family eat the same main meal as I do, we all enjoyed this, will make again, used only 2 tblspns of ketchup = 2 syns. Served with potatoes & fresh veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.
Living In: Truro, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My grandmother used to make this when I was younger, and then I found this exact recipe in a cookbook I bought so I decided to try it. It came out great, and my husband and roommate absolutely LOVED it! Both went back for seconds, and they were skeptical about it at first. I believe the reason one user said that it still "tasted like coke and chicken" was they didn't mix it well enough before pouring it on the chicken. Its a great dish, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Meade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kirtland Afb, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was one of my favorite dishes as a kid. My family has made a few adjutments to the recipe over the years... 1/4 C. worc. 3/4 C. ketchup 10 oz. Cola (regular - we never had good luck with the diet or flavored kinds) I often double or even triple the sauce and then serve over mashed potatoes. Cooking covered with foil for the first hour will help keep your chicken from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I made this and thought it tasted like chicken in coke and ketchup. The flavors didn't blend well or magically change into something tasty. I recommend you keep looking for another chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Like other cooks, I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs as well as boneless breast. I browned the chicken, mixed the sauce, then cooked, uncovered, in a 300 oven 2 hours. I then removed the chicken and thickened the sauce on the stovetop (in same pan)with a little cornstarch. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krzylittlecara
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
The falvor was okay i guess. But the chicken came out sooo dry. I probably won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
My kind of recipe! Quick and easy for mom, Yummy enough for the kids. They said it tasted like eating chicken nuggets with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is so simple and very tasty! my daughter loves it! Make sure to stir sauce and turn chicken about every 20 mins,... and cover well! add a salad and veggie, your done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
We made this with 3 Chicken Breasts , bone and skin on, in the Crock Pot all day on low. Less ketchup, more Worcestershire made it a little less tangy than traditional BBQ flavor which tends to assault the senses a tad. We also added a barbecue rub and garlic salt for a little seasoning. It all ended up falling off the bone nicely, very moist! I recommend this as an alternative to traditional BBQ Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States