Easy Coconut Rice and Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I make a lot of different rice side dishes and this one so far has been the family favorite. I also added salt and pepper to taste (which should be a given) and I pretty much eyeballed the coconut milk and I also used the liquid from the blackeye peas in the rice as well as a diced onion. My husband said so far this and spinach rice is by far his favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceBoxx10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Quick and easy. I used this as a side with some vegan jamaican patties and callaloo and a rundown that I had all prepared from scratch so such a nice and easy side was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe is great, I added salt and pepper along with some chives and loved it. I served it alongside some jerk chicken for a perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I'm from the Caribbean and this recipe is incomplete - that's why it tasted awful. Firstly it would have tasted better with red kidney beans. The beans needs to be half cooked first, then add the coconut milk, then season with escallions, thyme, salt, black pepper, 1 peg garlic, a few allspice. Then add the rice and cook until done. Try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
It was okay - kinda sweetish, but very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Smelled good but didn't taste like much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
It smell really good but was pretty boring. I even added coconut flakes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I must have done something wrong,will try again just to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
this recipe leaves much to be desired. it needs spices and fresh not canned peas or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States