Easy Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Excellent! I flollowed the advice of others and replaced the cornstarch with 1/4 cup flour. They were cripsy on the outside and soft in the center. I would recomend doubling the batch because one is not nearly enough:) I made half of them with chocolate chips and coco. Mmmmm chocolate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Yummmmmmmmy! I read the reviews and almost didn't make these because of them. I'm glad I decided to try them anyway. I, too, used flour instead of cornstarch, and I made sure I greased and floured the cookie sheet. I also added a touch of almond flavoring. I don't see any reason why these wouldn't come out perfectly. The only thing I can think of is that they are not following the rest of the recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a good recipe with a few twists. Doubled recipe, added 1/2 c. flour, 3 eggs, 1 t. vanilla and almond extract. Very good. I noticed if you take macaroons out of pan as soon as you take out of oven makes for easier removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hakalau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Recipe works fine if you use a finer shred coconut. That's the only thing I can think of as to why others couldn't get the recipe to work. These came out great for me, and I hardly ever bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were perfect. I doubled the recipe. Used 1/2 c. flour (for a double recipe) and just half the corn starch. I beat the 2 whole eggs til frothy before folding them in. did not spread one bit. and look and taste perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Extremely easy and tasty way to use up that bag of flaked coconut that's been sitting in the fridge forever. Next batch I may skip the chocolate...they're great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I rated a little low on the kid friendliness just because I'm not sure many kids like coconut. These are wonderful tasting and very easy. I omit the chocolate and add a little almond extract for variety. I have also made these with Splenda and can't tell the difference from regular sugar. You don't have to know how to cook to make these great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I've made these several times. So easy and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We loved these cookies! 'Perfection'. I didn't have any trouble at all getting them off the cookie sheet like others have reported, I used just baking spray. I mixed in 1/4 C. flour instead of the small amount of cornstarch. I also did not use any chocolate, but they were great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1olygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
With just a few adjustments, these came out really good! I added 1/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and 1 teaspoon vanilla. I added a little water (maybe 2 tablespoons) to make them gooey enough to stick together. I sprayed my cookie sheets and they didn't stick (or spread.) I didn't do the chocolate. Very easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States