Easy Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Like most others, I got coconut patties. Not sure where I went wrong, I followed the recipe.. I beat the bejesus out of the egg whites, and as soon as I added sugar (even the first spoonful) it went flat. Anyone who claims they didn't get a unicookie is simply lying. I whipped the eggs until they peaked like Mt. Everest, and then the sugar flattened them out like Kansas. This recipe is a good way to lower your self esteem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Don't get me wrong, these taste awesome, however..my first batch I cooked as directed, and had coconut pancakes... my second batch I added 1/4 cup of flour..still have pancakes, im shooting for my thrid batch after I finish eating these tasty pancakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These turned out terrible. as others have said, they flattened out horribly and were NOT what i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We loved these cookies! 'Perfection'. I didn't have any trouble at all getting them off the cookie sheet like others have reported, I used just baking spray. I mixed in 1/4 C. flour instead of the small amount of cornstarch. I also did not use any chocolate, but they were great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1olygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I found these sweets quick and easy to make. They would add an old fashioned touch of elegance to any tray of goodies. I used parchment to line my cookie sheet, and had no trouble with sticking, but I slightly under-baked the first sheet and they ended up too soft. Just make sure the edges are golden and they should be fine. Also, they spread our alot! I thought I was making pretty small drops, until they came out! They were about four times larger in diameter! All in all, very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
i didn't get macaroons, i got a huge flat coconut tart. it spread out completely! but i ate them anyway, coconut and sugar's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I tried the 1st batch as directed-and I ended up with cookies that had spread over the whole pan. The 2nd batch, I omitted the cornstarch, replaced 1/4 c of sugar with icing sugar (confectioners) and added 2tbsp of flour. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I thought these were super easy to make and tasted great. They are very sweet, but that is how i like cookies. I made a double recipe using half splenda and half sugar. My cookies did not stick to the pans, i guess that has happened to other reviewers. I did grease the pans and coat with cornstarch and they came right off with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
As per the other reviews, my macaroons also flattened out and I couldn't get them off my cookie sheet in one piece. AND, even worse, my husband wouldn't even eat them, and he's not one to pass by anything sweet, even if it is in pieces. Will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Mine did flatten out and were tricky to get off the pan, but they tasted so good that I didn't care! Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States