Easy Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
2 stars only for the good taste, the look is pretty emberessing. Good thing it didnt waste much ingrediets. Well I changed the recipe as others suggested, used powdered sugar as it already has starch. Istead of starch I used 2 tbsp of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. It's fast and easy which I love! Instead of the cornstarch, I used flour. I doubled the amount of flour and instead of chocolate, added about two teaspoons of lemon juice and they turned out great. I also didn't have any issues with the cookies sticking to the cookie sheet, I just used cooking spray. The only down side is I didn't double the recipe, which I definitely will be doing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Followed directions to the letter and the cookies were flat as a pancake in no time. Don't waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Very easy, and pretty tasty. Like others, I substituted the cornstarch for a half cup flour. They turned out perfectly. Have no idea why others had problems. I used finely shredded coconut. The egg should just provide enough moisture to pull the dough together; not so liquid that they run all over the cookie sheet. Upon cooking they spread a bit, just like any cookie. I did use parchment paper though just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I felt compelled to write a review of these easy and fast cookies. I read the negative reviews before I made these cookies and I was concerned they might not turn out ok. But I wanted to try it because I'm avoiding flour and milk for a few weeks. I followed the recipe almost exactly only making a small change using less sugar (1/3c) and they turned out perfectly. They had a great texture and kept their shape. In trying to figure out why so many people had trouble during the baking process I wondered if people might be using sweetened coconut flakes which might throw off the texture. I used unsweetened from the health food store and they are very dry. Just a thought. Using the parchment paper also makes fast cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Recipe works fine if you use a finer shred coconut. That's the only thing I can think of as to why others couldn't get the recipe to work. These came out great for me, and I hardly ever bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These macaroons started out good, but when I put them on the pan the liquid parts spread across the whole pan. It ended up with very flat coconut disks with a crunchy film all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made a few changes and these turned out fantastic! Changes: replaced 1/4 c. white sugar with confectioner's sugar, omitted cornstarch, added 4 tbls flour, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 6 tbls ground almonds. I loosened the cookies with a spatula as soon as I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Extremely easy and tasty way to use up that bag of flaked coconut that's been sitting in the fridge forever. Next batch I may skip the chocolate...they're great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a good recipe with a few twists. Doubled recipe, added 1/2 c. flour, 3 eggs, 1 t. vanilla and almond extract. Very good. I noticed if you take macaroons out of pan as soon as you take out of oven makes for easier removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hakalau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States