Easy Clotted Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Having recently returned from England & the UK, this isn't actual clotted cream but very tasty anway. It says in the description "substitute"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Perhaps, because I had enjoyed fabulous clotted cream in a restaurant my expectations for this were too high, but I found this to be awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
While this may not be the true clotted cream, it is a great substitue!!! It goes well with the scones. I did not find the recipe too sweet either. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I found that I had to add quite a bit of sugar for my tastes but other than that, its really quite easy, and is good on top of warm scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I use this recipe every time I have a tea party. It's very good and very simple to make. You can easily adjust to you own liking as far as sweetness goes and I've experimented with it by adding a little Maple flavoring~yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This really isn't clotted cream. It's a tasty topping for warm scones, but it's just not very "authentic" tasting. I might make it again, but not when I'm craving a taste of England, because it just didn't do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
So big deal, not authentic clotted cream but still tasty and great to have on hand. I added a wee bit of green food coloring today and will serve it atop my St. Patricks Day cherry mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was NOT clotted cream...the name of this recipe is misleading. Clotted cream isn't sweetened and is closer in consistancy to butter that melts in your mouth. Very dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
It was a great complement to the scones that I served at a tea. Make the day of and keep in the fridge until needed, because it starts to get funny pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Not only isn't this clotted cream, is doesn't resemble it in any way, and it's sweetened. I'm puzzled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States