Easy Clotted Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I agree with Trusty754. This is absolutely NOT clotted cream. Clotted cream is made with unpasturized milk, not easily available in the US. And, it is NOT sweet. An accceptable alternative is to cook 2 cups heavy cream in top of double boiler over simmering water until reduced by half. It will be the consistency of butter, with a crust on top. Pour all, including crust into a bowl, cover and let stand 2 hours. Then, refrigerate 12 hours or more. Stir crust into the cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I have made this recipe several times, and with each making I loved it. I have however tweaked it somewhat. The first time I followed the instructions to the letter and found it tasty but not as firm as the clotted cream I had in London.. So the second time I made it I seperated the sour cream. (Dump your sour cream in a strainer lined with cheese cloth or a coffee filter, cover with plastic wrap – so that it touches the sour cream – place over a bowl and refrigerate overnight.) This second attempt was perfect. However when I made it last week a disaster 5 minutes before company came (my whipped cream got coffee grounds dumped on it) forced me to use --- yes you guessed it…. Cool Whip. I must confess I liked this version the best. I’m so ashamed and plan to never tell my mother that I used Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Three days before I made this, I had been to tea at the Plaza Hotel in NYC. This was remarkably similar to the Devonshire cream they served with their scones! Excellent and so easy.....also very impressive served with fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I found a recipe like this last year but it was called Mock Clotted Cream, which would be a more acceptable title for the purists out there commenting it's not clotted cream. Even though it is not true clotted cream, it did go well with lemon curd and scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I use this recipe every time I have a tea party. It's very good and very simple to make. You can easily adjust to you own liking as far as sweetness goes and I've experimented with it by adding a little Maple flavoring~yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
While this may not be the true clotted cream, it is a great substitue!!! It goes well with the scones. I did not find the recipe too sweet either. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Tasted so similar to what I get in England. Pleasantly surprising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
So big deal, not authentic clotted cream but still tasty and great to have on hand. I added a wee bit of green food coloring today and will serve it atop my St. Patricks Day cherry mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
this is a good recipe, however, i have never had clotted cream or made it before, so i don't have anything to compare it to, but i liked it. i made along with the Grandma Johnson's Scones recipe on this site. Note, if you have never worked with heavy whipping cream, be careful not to over beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I was very pleased to find this recipe! While this is not exactly the same as Devon or real clotted cream, it is *fabulous* as a topping on scones. Try it! MMmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States