Easy Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It's really good, but I'd add a few suggestions. I went ahead and followed the original recipe to the best of my ability, making only one addition: I added fresh orange zest (from 2 navel oranges)to the cinnamon-nut mixture. Everybody loved that. My suggestions (and this is just according to my own personal preferences): for those of us who don't make a lot of recipes involving a dough, we'd probably have to be told. It works better if, before you roll out the dough into the dimensions suggested, flour your surface as well as the dough, to keep it from sticking. Also, and I think I read this comment from some other reviewers, the amount of ingredients used to make the cinnamon-nut mixture produces A LOT of the mixture. My husband thought it was great, but some friends and I agreed that we could probably get by with about half of it. One of the friends I presented it to also said that it lacked only one thing: raisins. I had thought really hard about buying some while at the store to add to it, but I decided against it (too expensive these days and so many people don't care for raisins, plus I wanted to stay as close to the original recipe as possible. I added orange zest because I saw a chef on the Food Network add it to something very similar that she made, and the thought of it simply compelled me to buy two oranges for just that purpose).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This was my 1st time making cinnamon rolls. I Only did so because the bread recipe I was making from this site said it made 3 loafs (Grandma VanDoren's) and it is just DH & myself. WOW!!! In the beginning I THOUGHT I had everything but way too late realized I did not have cream...so...I mixed some liquid French Vanilla coffee creamer with some 1/2 & 1/2 (and still added the vanilla extract) up at the last minute. Hey, what can I say? They were freaking awesome! On a personal note just for myself, I won't worry about nuts next time... even though I loved this with them... it is still an extra expense that could be left out without compromising the flavor. AND even though I thought pouring the creamy mixture over them before baking sounded strange it was spot on!! I will try making another cinnamon roll recipe on this site but have a feeling nothing could be as good as this one. I feel as if I have to try baking another one just so I know for certain that this is THE ONE to use. I will of course post an update later. That being said, I won't use baking bread as an excuse to try my hand at cinnamon rolls ever again. SO 4.75 Big gold stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
YUM! Kids loved them and pretty easy. The only thing is the time to let the dough rise especially depending on the temperature in your home! A weekend recipe for sure! A friend had suggested using Rhodes whole wheat bread dough for a healthier twist. Great idea because they were delicious and you couldn't tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this recipe! I made it for family on New Year's Day, my immediate family, sister and her children and parents- we all agreed the cinnamon rolls were amazing- and some of us thought they were the best cinnamon rolls we'd ever had. Now we know the secret! Pouring milk over the rolls before baking. The only change I made was no nuts, and used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy whipping cream. The rolls disappeared with family members negotiating for "extra" rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I like this recipe, I've made it twice now but my rolls haven't turned out big at all. They're quite small actually. Maybe they need to sit out much longer than 90mins. Aside from size they're still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My first time making Cinnamon Rolls. I used a little more walnuts and made only half the icing; turned out perfect ! Will definitely be making these again. Thanks, Chris Martin, for sharing an easy, tasty treat for our Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It has become a tradition at our house for Christmas, Easter, and Thanksgiving breakfast. My Grandson Loves these. I use dental floss to cut the dough rolls and found that they are even better if they are not well done. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Quick and very easy to make last Minuit with lots of taste. Will make these again. Only thing I did was made extra icing since my family likes them smothered with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This the easiest and most delicious recipe for cinnamon rolls that I have ever found in my 50 years of baking and cooking. My only mistake was that one time I forgot to pour on the heavy cream before putting in the oven. I won't make that mistake again. The cream is the ticket to the caramel coating. I also do not drizzle the rolls with frosting. They are sweet and YUMMY just as they are out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States