Easy Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I can tell you exactly why this recipe doesn't set up. You should follow the recipe WITHOUT the butter. Melt any chocolate you like at 12 ounces with one can of sweetened condensed milk on low heat. After it's mixed add your flavoring and refrigerate for 2-3 hours. Then make the balls and coat in whatever you like. That's how this recipe is supposed to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I felt the same as the other 3-the recipe would not set up and all I had was chocolate goo-then I added a cup of sifted powdered sugar and put it in the refrigerator for an hour (this was after two hours sitting on the counter in a covered bowl. When I started to roll the balls it wasn't too bad. I was able to scoop out the balls put them in the fridge for a short while, then I rolled them in the goodies. They were a hit at the party. I think the next time I would use about 2/3 the amount of unsalted butter and a cup of the powdered sugar. They really were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
ok, so i did EXACTLY what the recipe said, but it didn't firm up... either i used the wrong kind of shortening or something, but all i have is a yummy gooey mess, that would be perfect inside of a cake! it doesn't firm up right... sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
what ever you do don't try the coffee! it turns out a disaster, the others aren't much better! if you want truffels turn around now and find another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made this for christmas presents and gave a small batch as samples and they were gone in less than an hour. They didi not believe that they were homemade. I skipped the butter, and dipped them in chocolate almond bark for a crispy outside texture awesome i am in the process of making another bathch to serve with my christmas dessert platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Citra, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
this is my second christmas using this recipe. i love it. i use soymilk and margarine instead of butter and milk, and they turned out great. i made one batch with baileys and rolled them in cocoa, and another batch with coconut milk then rolled them in coconut. they're always a big hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
These didnt firm up for me, but they tasted great, more chocolate is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redlands Mesa, Colorado, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This recipe turned out perfect! Not too sweet but just right. To let this have time to sit we just put it outside in the cold winter, mold them, and roll them in powdered sugar and itwas perfect!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
once again, yummy gooey mess (it refused to set). very delicious, but this recipe seems to make more of a chocolate caramel than anything else. i've coated them and put them in the fridge, but the best use i can think for the recipe right now is as an accompaniment to ice cream, on top of shortcake or in a devils cake. this recipe will not make truffles, but its very yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made these truffles with german chocolate, butter, and half and half cream. They were good but a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States