Easy Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
ok, so i did EXACTLY what the recipe said, but it didn't firm up... either i used the wrong kind of shortening or something, but all i have is a yummy gooey mess, that would be perfect inside of a cake! it doesn't firm up right... sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
what ever you do don't try the coffee! it turns out a disaster, the others aren't much better! if you want truffels turn around now and find another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
These didnt firm up for me, but they tasted great, more chocolate is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelak

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redlands Mesa, Colorado, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I felt the same as the other 3-the recipe would not set up and all I had was chocolate goo-then I added a cup of sifted powdered sugar and put it in the refrigerator for an hour (this was after two hours sitting on the counter in a covered bowl. When I started to roll the balls it wasn't too bad. I was able to scoop out the balls put them in the fridge for a short while, then I rolled them in the goodies. They were a hit at the party. I think the next time I would use about 2/3 the amount of unsalted butter and a cup of the powdered sugar. They really were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
They tasted very good but were a lot of work. I had trouble shaping them and made a big mess. I don't thing I'll try these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made this for christmas presents and gave a small batch as samples and they were gone in less than an hour. They didi not believe that they were homemade. I skipped the butter, and dipped them in chocolate almond bark for a crispy outside texture awesome i am in the process of making another bathch to serve with my christmas dessert platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Citra, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made these truffles with german chocolate, butter, and half and half cream. They were good but a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
this is my second christmas using this recipe. i love it. i use soymilk and margarine instead of butter and milk, and they turned out great. i made one batch with baileys and rolled them in cocoa, and another batch with coconut milk then rolled them in coconut. they're always a big hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
once again, yummy gooey mess (it refused to set). very delicious, but this recipe seems to make more of a chocolate caramel than anything else. i've coated them and put them in the fridge, but the best use i can think for the recipe right now is as an accompaniment to ice cream, on top of shortcake or in a devils cake. this recipe will not make truffles, but its very yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
recipe is great. added rum extract. topping used german cho. shaving, coconut. put in frige overnight . perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States