Easy Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I want to make these for my fam, but can't use liqueur. are there any substitutes for liqueur? Or should I keep going on the impossible trek to find a kid friendly recipe? -Yoseff (20 year old collage student looking for recipes for the family)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made these again this year for Christmas. I used orange Citrine liqueur this time and I use 2 extra Tbs. That gave them a good punch because I did not think the raspberry that I used last year added any flavor. I left the orange peel out because I was afraid I would not grate it enough. This is definitely for chocolate lovers. My family did not seem to like them as much this year but that is because they are so rich and chocolaty. I also made the mistake of putting all the butter, last time I used 6 Tbs of butter like one of the reviews said. I had to make sure to keep them refrigerated because using all of the butter makes it separate out. Not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe! It doesn't set up very well, so I ended up putting it in the fridge for a couple of hours and then I was able to shape the truffles. SO TASTEY. I made these as a surprise for my fiance with Amaretto and coconut and he went CRAZY for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Like everyone else, on the first round when I followed the directions exactly, these were a gooey disaster. SO on round two - I used 10 ounces of semi-sweet chips, 5 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, the s/c milk and only 2 tablespoons of butter. Instead of 6 T of flavoring I used 4 T of Amaretto. Also, I borrowed a bit from Ina Garten, after the ganache had chilled in a bowl for an hour, I dropped it by spoonfuls onto a baking sheet, let the globs chill for another hour and then hand rolled them to round and coated with cocao and almonds. WITH MODIFICATIONS this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this with just condensed milk as others suggested. I scaled down to a very small size to try out and was sort of in the dark with the milk measurements, but it worked out nicely. I dipped mine in melted chocolate after set and rolled in goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is my favorite Truffle Recipe! I have never had a problem wit it setting. Use a double boiler! Cho. is delicate and should never sit directly over a burner no matter how low the setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
A yearly christmas gift; best to work cold, and a melon baller portions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I had the same trouble of it not setting up and now have lots of (a yummy) rich pudding, am going to try adding more chocolate. I would suggest cutting back on both the butter and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I can tell you exactly why this recipe doesn't set up. You should follow the recipe WITHOUT the butter. Melt any chocolate you like at 12 ounces with one can of sweetened condensed milk on low heat. After it's mixed add your flavoring and refrigerate for 2-3 hours. Then make the balls and coat in whatever you like. That's how this recipe is supposed to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States