Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
When I became vegan a few years back, I found this recipe and it was a life-saver since I love chocolate desserts. I have tweaked it, though. Instead of putting the pie into a graham cracker crust, I usually use a chocolae cookie crust (there are vegan versions). I also add 1/2 a carton of Tofutti imitation cream cheese to the tofu because it makes the flavor and texture more closely resemble chocolate cheesecake. Let's face it -- this pie is too solid and heavy to ever compete as a faux chocolate cream pie, but it can compete very nicely as a faux chocolate cheesecake. I layer the top with sliced strawberries and tell people it is a "strawberry chocolate cheesecake." Sometimes I make it without sugar (using 2 tablespoons of stevia extract instead) but that can have a slightly bitter taste. I don't mind, but for company I usually just cut the sugar in half (1/2 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon stevia extract) and I think this is indistinguishable from using all sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Pie was okay. I found it a bit bitter. Used a chocolate crust as well. Easy to make. Next time will add more sugar and perhaps some peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Awesome. I'm so happy there's a yummy dessert my son can eat that rivals full dairy desserts. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
The kids absolutely loved this. My husband and I thought it was too sweet. No one knew it was tofu. I just called it Chocolate pudding pie. It has a nice consistency and is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Made this just for a vegan friend who came to a dinner party at my house a few months ago. Even the non-vegans loved it! I used regular tofu because I couldn't find silken - glad it didn't ruin the pie. I'll definitely make this again any time a vegan comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Loved it, got my anti-tofu friends and family to eat their words! I did try to sub the sugar with all Splenda in one pie (it was awful, don't be tempted) and then I tried 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda and that was excellent. I served it with some toasted walnuts and fat free cool whip and made a low fat graham cracker crust. No guilt, lots of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This recipe is amazingly fast and yummy. We ignored the crust and used something called bead curd pudding which whipped up beautifully. We used "ruddy cocoa" which is rich and of high quality. Too impatient for cooling we poured it over bananas and discovered it made a yummy hot sauce. I would made it again but if I wanted it to set properly I would use a stiffer tofu (what the recipe actually suggested). Because I find that tofu and chocolate can be bitter I chose not to add any sour (i.e. the vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mammak
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
HE HE !! Fooled my guys with this. I have only worked with tofu 1 time before and that was oohh about 9 years ago and that was enough to scare us all away....until now! I was very leary to try it but it worked. Very nice pie for sure. Nobody knows my little secret about this pie and they never will. :) I wrote the measurements down then tore it up when I was done to ensure they would not see it! I had some Silken on hand and glad I did...very smooth. The only things I did different was I used half splenda and half sugar and added almond extract along with the vanilla. Nice but I think I used too much. Will tone it down next time and maybe make a double batch so as to filll the shell more. Will make again! Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Although I may not call it a "dead ringer" for chocolate pie, it was still quite good. I omitted the vinegar and added chopped nuts and it turned out great. I agree that it should be chilled and would go so far as to say that it is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
G'day from sunny Australia! Yummy yum yum!! I made this recipe today for a vegan friend (we're very carnivourous in our household). I read all the reviews carefully; the best suggestions 1. Use splenda it takes away the bitter choc /tofu taste(but only use half as much as the recipie asks for otherwise it's too sweet) 2. food processor makes a lovely smooth pie, 3. Omit the vinegar.Thanks for the tips! I added a splash of "Baileys" which made it quite rich but good :) Also made a cheesecake base with vegan coconut cookies and vegan butter. Finally toppped with fresh rasperries and strawberries (it's summer here) and a scoop of vanilla soy ice cream. A perfect chocolatley dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States