Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I LOVE this recipe!! I have made it twice and both times it was a huge hit. I didn't have the vinegar either time and it turned out fine. Also, if you want a low-fat version, you can make it as a kind of pudding and just not use a crust. That's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I thought this turned out incredible! I did not use the cider, but added coffee liquor instead. I didn't have a problem with the texture, but I made sure that I bought the Silken Tofu sold in a box. I bought the firm. I don't think I would ever make a chocolate pie any other way. Everyone who tried this loved it too and never would have guessed it was made with tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
ty liked this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
i omit the vinegar and use the "healthier graham cracker crust" from this website. the result is a very low fat pie for my dad who is on a very low fat diet. he can have chocolate pie again and loves it! thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
All my non-vegan friends loved it! They said it was shockingly good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I served this for a group of ladies, of which only one was dairy intolerant. Everyone loved it...especially the choc-o-holics. I was concerned about the bitter flavor mentioned and didn't have time for a testrun, so this is what I did: The silken tofu comes in 12 oz, so I used 2 12 oz packages in a deep dish pie (marie calendar's which I pre-baked about 5 minutes). I replaced the cocoa with 4 oz bittersweet bakers choc and added 2 T of cocoa to make up for the extra tofu). Kept 1 cup sugar. Forgot vanilla. Added no vinegar. It was a hit. Easy to make (just took a few minutes with the food processor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Wasn't sure how firm this pie was meant to be, but mine came out pretty soft. Its also very, very sweet, maybe less cocoa and sugar next... I also put coconut in mine for a bit of texture! Still an awesome pie. It was my first time using silken tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Great recipe! I am always looking for vegan desserts, and this did not disappoint. I added a little more than a cup of organic white sugar because I read that some found it bitter. I didn't think it was bitter at all - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Wow! THIS is tofu??? I am a fan of dark chocolate. I used Sharfenberger's cocoa, and I used white sugar. While I think this IS sweet, it's also amazingly delicious! So I will eat smaller pieces (which I should anyway) and top it off with fat free cool whip. yum I don't understand what the vinegar is for, but I used it and there's no odd taste. This is very good. Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe, even though I didn't tell them it was tofu....I will make this again soon, but I think I will try to make it lemon or lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States