Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I am lactose intolerant and rarely find a treat as rich as this. I loved the smooth texture and the great chocolate taste. It was really super-thick and almost too rich, but I still loved it. I am curious how this would work if you semi froze it? I tried to blend it in the blender, but it was too thick, the electric mixer didn't beat it smooth enough, so I finally scooped it in the FOOD PROCESSOR and it turned out perfect! I, my kids and my husband love, love, LOVE this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this pie twice. While eating the first I saw how fast my family was devouring it so I went back to the store for another graham pie crust and made another one. It vanished quickly too! This will definitely be a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frfontenet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
With some work, this could be good. Mine took much more than 1 hour after cooking to reach a firm texture, even had to stick it in the freezer. Personally, I found this to be pretty gross (bitter), & I usually love tofu treats. The vegans who ate this thought it was GREAT- it was gone in a flash. However, it's just missing something. I think I'll add toffuti cream cheese & add something to even out the chocolate taste. I did use 3/4 white sugar and 1/4 splenda, but I'm quite sure that wasn't the problem. Will make again in the future with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This completely failed for me. It didn't solidify, so I ended up with pudding, which didn't look too appetizing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKABATEMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Bleck. I didn't like the texture or the flavor. I couldn't taste the soy, but that wasn't enough to redeem this recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was okay. It came out kind of soggy, but had a good flavor. Would probably make some adjustments if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The fact that this is tofu and you can't tell earns it a five star rating. I was worried due to mixed reviews - it's really amazing! I stuck with the graham cracker crust, left out the cider and threw in some chocolate chips and sweetened coconut flakes. No whipped. It's ridiculously easy and super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I've made this twice now w\ the Silken tofu & a regular pastry crust instead of the graham one. It does not last long at our home! I tried to make it completely vegan by not adding the whipped cream...however it just seems to need the the topping to give it a better layer of flavor. So, now trying to find a good recipe for TRUE non-dairy whipped topping. This is a neat recipe that can be modified in various ways to make it more interesting. I will definitely keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I've made this three times so far and I love it. I cut the sugar in half though; one cup's way too much. I can also say that you don't need food processors or anything - I break up everything manually using a whisk. It doesn't take all that long, either. When it comes out, oh so scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
make sure to use a food processor or blender to get it blended. It is very runny, but don't worry, it firms up nicely once baked. Be sure to bake it on the lower portion of the oven for 25 mins. or it will not firm up. A nice alternative for ppl. with dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States