Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Even my Tofu hating hubby likes this pie! I don't make it vegan though as I add 1/2 package of cream cheese to thicken it up and tone down the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Easy and delicious! I melted four squares of unsweetened chocolate, 12 oz. of tofu and 3/4 c. of brown sugar. It was just right, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I am not the typical chocolate fan, but loved how this pie turned out. To have a richer flavor, I used dark ground unsweetened chocolate. To simulate a fudge pudding consistency, ensure majority of the water is drained from the tofu. I skipped the apple cider and used fine baker's sugar instead of the regular granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a great basic recipe with lots of room for experiment. Instead of chocolate (or with chocolate) add peanut butter in the food processor! forget the chocolate and add coconut. I Halved the sugar and didn't miss it at all. also, for a richer experience...add canola oil as you process. Not recommended for mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAKATERINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Everybody tweeks this their own way. I used the recipe without the apple cider vinegar and it came out pretty decent. Just less sugar for me next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Pretty easy and tasty! I got a bunch of silken tofu packages on sale for 99 cents, so I had to figure out how to use them. I had all the ingredients in the house to make this. I only used 12 oz box of tofu instead of 16 oz (didn't want to open an extra box to use part of it) and it still worked fine. The chocolate/tofu mixture is really good, probably could eat it just like that or bake in custard cups minus the crust. When pie is totally cooled it will slice much easier. I would make this again. I'm also lactose intolerant, so even better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
OK, mabye a little less sugar. Man it is rich. I am not even close to being vegan. My fiancé is and I wanted to find something good for her. I have never had a better chocolate pie than this. She said it was so good it gave her a chocolate fix for a year. Not being vegan I can honestly tell you NOBODY will ever know there is tofu in this (vegan or not) unless you tell them. I would give it 6 stars out of 6!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I've been a vegan for 34 years, and have baked many, many pies and cakes, but I have to say that this was one of the best. I made one change to the recipe, using extra firm tofu to make the filling more like fudge. I wanted something to approximate my mom's fudge pies that she made when I was a kid and this one fills the bill. Even my non vegan husband ate 2 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Onley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I would recommend processing the tofu first before adding the cocoa and sugar. I want to give it 4 stars, but only the vegans at our Thanksgiving loved it. Everyone else thought it was 'o.k.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
A nice recipe but WAY too sweet for me... and I love sweets! I would suggest cutting the sugar down by half and tasting the batter as you blend to see if it is OK to you so you won't get a huge shock of sweetness like my husband and I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States