Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was surprisingly great! My boyfriend and I were hosting friends for dinner and one is a vegan, so on a whim I decided to try this pie. We didn't have high hopes for it but it came out SO. GOOD. It tastes like a chocolate fudge filling. I don't own a large food processor so I didn't blend my tofu down as well as I should have and it still turned out fine. I used semi-firm tofu too since that's all my grocery store had. I tossed in a few drops of almond flavoring to the batter and it gave a nice richness; I think it would be AMAZING with cherry or raspberry flavoring. This is good for a dessert, not just "good for a vegan dessert".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My first tofu pie. I changed two things. I used a 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 3/4 sugar. Both my husband I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I also took the suggestion to add Baileys and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Rich and delicious! I would not have known it contained tofu. I followed others' suggestions and cut the sugar in half and omitted the vinegar. I used a regular pie crust instead of graham cracker, and that worked great except that my crust was deep-dish and there wasn't really enough filling for it. Use a regular crust, not deep-dish. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Well, it's not bad, but to say it compares to a regular chocolate pie is a BIG stretch. People might not guess that it's tofu, but they are definitely not going to think it's a regular chocolate pie either. I may make it again, but overall, I was pretty disappointed considering all the rave reviews. I was expecting something much more rich and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
It was amazing! We put whipped cream on top and sliced strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEPHABOO
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was wonderful! I omitted the cider vinegar and cracker crust. I also used splenda in place of sugar. To me it didn't look like there was enough filling for the pie pan I had so I lined a small loaf pan with tinfoil and lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Due to the pan size, I increased the cooking time by 10 min. I let it set up in the refrigerator the night before serving. Very rich and chocolately. It tastes just like chocolate pudding. Next time I may double the recipe and make it in a springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I've never cooked with tofu before so I was a little intimidated. But, there was no need to be. Simply easy and delicious! I made this for a vegan friend. She loved it! If I hadn't mentioned what was in it my carnivorous friends probably would've loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is delicious, just the way it is. (I think you can also reduce the sugar a touch if you want.) I do a lot of dairy-free cooking, and it fills the creamy chocolate void perfectly. I make it a lot as a pudding, omitting the pie crust. Most of the mix doesn't make it to the oven, and it never lasts long. My kids, all under 5, LOVE it and it's a great way to introduce tofu as a non-scary food (which was never done for me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Even my Tofu hating hubby likes this pie! I don't make it vegan though as I add 1/2 package of cream cheese to thicken it up and tone down the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States