Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Amazing taste, but needed to cool overnight. Added 2 tablespoons Daiya cream cheese substitute for richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was surprisingly great! My boyfriend and I were hosting friends for dinner and one is a vegan, so on a whim I decided to try this pie. We didn't have high hopes for it but it came out SO. GOOD. It tastes like a chocolate fudge filling. I don't own a large food processor so I didn't blend my tofu down as well as I should have and it still turned out fine. I used semi-firm tofu too since that's all my grocery store had. I tossed in a few drops of almond flavoring to the batter and it gave a nice richness; I think it would be AMAZING with cherry or raspberry flavoring. This is good for a dessert, not just "good for a vegan dessert".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My first tofu pie. I changed two things. I used a 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 3/4 sugar. Both my husband I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I also took the suggestion to add Baileys and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Rich and delicious! I would not have known it contained tofu. I followed others' suggestions and cut the sugar in half and omitted the vinegar. I used a regular pie crust instead of graham cracker, and that worked great except that my crust was deep-dish and there wasn't really enough filling for it. Use a regular crust, not deep-dish. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Well, it's not bad, but to say it compares to a regular chocolate pie is a BIG stretch. People might not guess that it's tofu, but they are definitely not going to think it's a regular chocolate pie either. I may make it again, but overall, I was pretty disappointed considering all the rave reviews. I was expecting something much more rich and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
It was amazing! We put whipped cream on top and sliced strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEPHABOO
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was wonderful! I omitted the cider vinegar and cracker crust. I also used splenda in place of sugar. To me it didn't look like there was enough filling for the pie pan I had so I lined a small loaf pan with tinfoil and lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Due to the pan size, I increased the cooking time by 10 min. I let it set up in the refrigerator the night before serving. Very rich and chocolately. It tastes just like chocolate pudding. Next time I may double the recipe and make it in a springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I've never cooked with tofu before so I was a little intimidated. But, there was no need to be. Simply easy and delicious! I made this for a vegan friend. She loved it! If I hadn't mentioned what was in it my carnivorous friends probably would've loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is delicious, just the way it is. (I think you can also reduce the sugar a touch if you want.) I do a lot of dairy-free cooking, and it fills the creamy chocolate void perfectly. I make it a lot as a pudding, omitting the pie crust. Most of the mix doesn't make it to the oven, and it never lasts long. My kids, all under 5, LOVE it and it's a great way to introduce tofu as a non-scary food (which was never done for me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States