Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
When I became vegan a few years back, I found this recipe and it was a life-saver since I love chocolate desserts. I have tweaked it, though. Instead of putting the pie into a graham cracker crust, I usually use a chocolae cookie crust (there are vegan versions). I also add 1/2 a carton of Tofutti imitation cream cheese to the tofu because it makes the flavor and texture more closely resemble chocolate cheesecake. Let's face it -- this pie is too solid and heavy to ever compete as a faux chocolate cream pie, but it can compete very nicely as a faux chocolate cheesecake. I layer the top with sliced strawberries and tell people it is a "strawberry chocolate cheesecake." Sometimes I make it without sugar (using 2 tablespoons of stevia extract instead) but that can have a slightly bitter taste. I don't mind, but for company I usually just cut the sugar in half (1/2 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon stevia extract) and I think this is indistinguishable from using all sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I tried this twice, using 4 ounces of melted bittersweet chocolate instead of the cocoa. If I had rated it the first time, it would have received only 1 star!. First off, use a food processor only. I know the recipe says "electric mixer" but the mixer didn't blend the tofu properly and the pie came out grainy. Also, I used Pillsbury pie crusts. The first time the crust came out a little soggy. Finally, be sure you have "silken" tofu. "Soft" won't blend smoothly. I ate the pie anyway, but it took a lot of Cool Whip! On the second try, I used silken tofu from the dairy case and blended everything in the food processor. While the filling was being assembled, I slightly pre-baked the crust. While still not quite as smooth as real chocolate cream pie, it was much better, especially if you are lactose-intolerant and can't have the real thing. Might be interesting to try this with a meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is fantastic! Use soft silken tofu for the a creamy pie. Next time I am probably going to use semi-sweet chocolate and less sugar to avoid the slightly bitter taste unsweetened chocolate gives the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Loved it, got my anti-tofu friends and family to eat their words! I did try to sub the sugar with all Splenda in one pie (it was awful, don't be tempted) and then I tried 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda and that was excellent. I served it with some toasted walnuts and fat free cool whip and made a low fat graham cracker crust. No guilt, lots of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
G'day from sunny Australia! Yummy yum yum!! I made this recipe today for a vegan friend (we're very carnivourous in our household). I read all the reviews carefully; the best suggestions 1. Use splenda it takes away the bitter choc /tofu taste(but only use half as much as the recipie asks for otherwise it's too sweet) 2. food processor makes a lovely smooth pie, 3. Omit the vinegar.Thanks for the tips! I added a splash of "Baileys" which made it quite rich but good :) Also made a cheesecake base with vegan coconut cookies and vegan butter. Finally toppped with fresh rasperries and strawberries (it's summer here) and a scoop of vanilla soy ice cream. A perfect chocolatley dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This was so easy and very very yummy! It is the best when it is completly cold from the fridge which took longer than an hour after cooking. Make sure you use silken tofu because regular tofu will make it grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
VERY NICE!! I used pie crust...The filling would make a wonderful vegan chocolate pudding! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Yum! I used my kitchen aid which didn't quite smooth out the tofu, but the flavor is awesome! Will definitely try again with a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Pie had a very grainy texture and was quite bitter, whipped cream could not save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This recipe was easy, but it was unclear about what texture of tofu to use. The taste is very bitter. With alot of whip cream, it's more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States