Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
G'day from sunny Australia! Yummy yum yum!! I made this recipe today for a vegan friend (we're very carnivourous in our household). I read all the reviews carefully; the best suggestions 1. Use splenda it takes away the bitter choc /tofu taste(but only use half as much as the recipie asks for otherwise it's too sweet) 2. food processor makes a lovely smooth pie, 3. Omit the vinegar.Thanks for the tips! I added a splash of "Baileys" which made it quite rich but good :) Also made a cheesecake base with vegan coconut cookies and vegan butter. Finally toppped with fresh rasperries and strawberries (it's summer here) and a scoop of vanilla soy ice cream. A perfect chocolatley dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Everyone who ate this pie loved it....except for me. A bit too bitter for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! I have fooled many non-vegan relatives at holiday time with this pie. I have also passed this recipe on to many friends and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My husband loves this recipe and has requested it many times. No one knows it is tofu, unless I tell them. I have made it with some almond extract as well and this has been well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Yum! I used my kitchen aid which didn't quite smooth out the tofu, but the flavor is awesome! Will definitely try again with a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe is incredible!! I even substituted Splenda for the sugar and it tasted great. By the way when using Splenda it knocks 90 calories off each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This was so easy and very very yummy! It is the best when it is completly cold from the fridge which took longer than an hour after cooking. Make sure you use silken tofu because regular tofu will make it grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I tried this twice, using 4 ounces of melted bittersweet chocolate instead of the cocoa. If I had rated it the first time, it would have received only 1 star!. First off, use a food processor only. I know the recipe says "electric mixer" but the mixer didn't blend the tofu properly and the pie came out grainy. Also, I used Pillsbury pie crusts. The first time the crust came out a little soggy. Finally, be sure you have "silken" tofu. "Soft" won't blend smoothly. I ate the pie anyway, but it took a lot of Cool Whip! On the second try, I used silken tofu from the dairy case and blended everything in the food processor. While the filling was being assembled, I slightly pre-baked the crust. While still not quite as smooth as real chocolate cream pie, it was much better, especially if you are lactose-intolerant and can't have the real thing. Might be interesting to try this with a meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Extremely easy to make and very yummy! I omitted the vanilla and cider vinegar since I didn't have them on hand, and threw in a handful of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Pie had a very grainy texture and was quite bitter, whipped cream could not save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States