Easy Chocolate Tofu Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I LOVE this recipe!! I have made it twice and both times it was a huge hit. I didn't have the vinegar either time and it turned out fine. Also, if you want a low-fat version, you can make it as a kind of pudding and just not use a crust. That's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I thought this turned out incredible! I did not use the cider, but added coffee liquor instead. I didn't have a problem with the texture, but I made sure that I bought the Silken Tofu sold in a box. I bought the firm. I don't think I would ever make a chocolate pie any other way. Everyone who tried this loved it too and never would have guessed it was made with tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
ty liked this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
i omit the vinegar and use the "healthier graham cracker crust" from this website. the result is a very low fat pie for my dad who is on a very low fat diet. he can have chocolate pie again and loves it! thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
All my non-vegan friends loved it! They said it was shockingly good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I served this for a group of ladies, of which only one was dairy intolerant. Everyone loved it...especially the choc-o-holics. I was concerned about the bitter flavor mentioned and didn't have time for a testrun, so this is what I did: The silken tofu comes in 12 oz, so I used 2 12 oz packages in a deep dish pie (marie calendar's which I pre-baked about 5 minutes). I replaced the cocoa with 4 oz bittersweet bakers choc and added 2 T of cocoa to make up for the extra tofu). Kept 1 cup sugar. Forgot vanilla. Added no vinegar. It was a hit. Easy to make (just took a few minutes with the food processor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Wasn't sure how firm this pie was meant to be, but mine came out pretty soft. Its also very, very sweet, maybe less cocoa and sugar next... I also put coconut in mine for a bit of texture! Still an awesome pie. It was my first time using silken tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Great recipe! I am always looking for vegan desserts, and this did not disappoint. I added a little more than a cup of organic white sugar because I read that some found it bitter. I didn't think it was bitter at all - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Wow! THIS is tofu??? I am a fan of dark chocolate. I used Sharfenberger's cocoa, and I used white sugar. While I think this IS sweet, it's also amazingly delicious! So I will eat smaller pieces (which I should anyway) and top it off with fat free cool whip. yum I don't understand what the vinegar is for, but I used it and there's no odd taste. This is very good. Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe, even though I didn't tell them it was tofu....I will make this again soon, but I think I will try to make it lemon or lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States