Easy Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This ice cream was pretty good, though not nearly as good as Wendy's Frostys. It had a distictive syrup taste but made it up with its ultra-smooth and creamy consistensy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is definitely a recipe to keep around. Very simple, and easy. I changed a couple things, though. I used 2/3 cup of Smucker's Hot Fudge topping instead of Hershey's chocolate syrup. I had read in a previous review that there was too much sugar content in the Hershey's for a proper freeze. The Smucker's has 3g less sugar in it, so it did help a bit. I also added about 1 cup of miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips. I added them after everything was mixed and folded together, just before freezing. We tried it after only an hour in the freezer and it had hardened enough in places to take a taste. It was delicious! We will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good and very easy! I agree that it tastes like a frosty. This recipe was the perfect size for my Cuisinart ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Wow! This is really sweet! It's basically frozen chocolate whipped cream. It's not terrible, but not that exciting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Other than being very simple to make, this ice cream recipe is just waaaaaaaaaay too sweet. I was worried about it being sweet but I tried it anyway and I was right. Maybe unsweetened chocolate (melted) or unsweetened cocoa powder next time. Not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This worked great especially since I do not have an ice cream maker, and this is a bad time of the year to find them in stores. I did have to add milk because the ice cream tasted like I had squirted chocolate syrup in my mouth (which is great, but not the taste I was going for). I also took out the ice cream every two hours for six hours and beat the mixture with an electric beater. It turned out great! I am actually getting ready to make this for a second time with the help of my two year old. This recipe is so easy for kids to help out with too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Pretty good. Does taste similar to Wendy's chocolate frosty, but reminds me more of a thick chocolate mousse or chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I agree with the Frosty comment, and it definitely is VERY sweet. Since I didn't have any choc syrup I made a substitute of it using choc baking cocoa- which made my ice cream taste a bit like frozen choc frosting- not that my husband and I minded :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
me and my friend love this so so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superprinces34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States