Easy Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Didn't really love this recipe. The syrup gives it a fake chocolate taste and the sweetened condensed milk gives it an unpleasant sour milk aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Very good and easy. Thanks to all the suggestions which did make this the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe is written (so I can give it a fair rating). It's good, but it's rather sweet (my daughter wouldn't eat it for this reason and she LOVES sweets) and I had a hard time getting the whipped topping fully mixed in...I had topping lumps when I had some...not a problem for me though! It may have mixed up better if I'd used a mixer instead of folding it in by hand maybe. I might try making some homemade chocolate syrup so I can cut back on the sugar a little to cut the sweetness, or maybe try special dark cocoa. I also think maybe just a touch less whipped topping might give it a better texture. All in all, this is great if you don't have an ice cream maker and want homemade ice cream. It's similar to a recipe my mom made occasionally when I was a kid. I think it might also be great for an ice cream cake or pie. Thanks for the recipe, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
OK... the flavor was ok. I used cocoa instead of syrop to cut back on the sweetness and I found it just sweet enough. I noticed many people commenting on how it was too sweet. I'd like to add that my BF found it slightly under sweetened with the cocoa. I'd suggest playing around with the amount of syrop/cocoa to control the sweetness to your liking. I added a tsp of both cinnamon and cayenne to turn it into a nice mexican chocolate which was very nice, but tasting it before adding those ingredients was nice and chocolately. The thing I didn't like about this dessert was the texture. It's too foamy. You don't get that nice cold mouth feel that should come with ice cream. Like when you eat cold and creamy frozen spoonful and you can feel it slowly melt to a liquid in your mouth. It's more like a frozen whipped cream, for sure. It melts back to whipped cream, aswell. So, flavour was good, but the texture was 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Love this recipe! It's so easy! I blended the ingredients in a blender, then put it in my Ice Cream Freezer. I dropped in chopped Reese's Peanut Butter Cups and pecans! Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I love this ice cream. I make this recipe with half the sweetened condensed milk; combining all three ingredients and then beating with a mixer. I also put in a 9 by 9 pan and freezing overnight (in an ordinary freezer). Still, its great ice cream any way you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is delicious and not too sweet at all. I'm thinking the people who are saying it is too sweet did not whip their cream enough. I whipped my cream for a good 8min with a mixer until it reached whip cream consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
WOW!! Really easy and very tasty. We did not find it too sweet at all. I don't care for Wendys food so I have never had a Frosty. To me it tastes like a chocolate milkshake that has melted and partially refrozen.I made it exactly as written and froze it over night. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Too sweet for me. This recipe did not have a natural chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Not bad tasting, just not really ice cream. Like others said, it was exactly like a Wendy's frosty in consistency and taste. I cut back the syrup to a 1/2 a cup since others said it was too sweet and subbed half and half for the heavy cream. I just mixed the ingredients with a whisk and then dumped into my ice cream maker. It was still very sweet, so I might try omitting the sweetened condensed milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States