Easy Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This is a wonderful ice cream recipe. I used my 1-qt. ice cream freezer and it worked very well. This ice cream stays relatively soft in the freezer (if there's any left over, that is) so you don't have to get it out ahead of time to let it soften. DELICIOUS! (Update: I tried it today with caramel sauce instead of chocolate -- scrumptious. Can't wait to try strawberry ice cream topping -- or even . . . well the choices are endless now.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I have found that tossing this into my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker is a quick solution to needing a desert ASAP. It tastes like a more elegant version of Wendy's Frosty's. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I think this was a good idea for people who don't have ice cream machines. This ice cream is pretty sweet, because of all the sweetened condensed milk. I Would cut down a little on the sweetened condensed milk next time I make this. But overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
ok, for those who experience problem like i do - ice cream wont freeze - u need to take it out, beat using electric mixer at high speed and re-freeze. perhaps next time reduce the condensed milk and avoid using hersheys choc syrup..some said if the content of sugar is too high, it wont freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I have been making this recipe for 25 years and still love it! It's creamy, tasty, easy and quick. Now that I have a Cuisinart Ice Cream maker, I combine all the ingredients and put it in the ice cream maker...no whipping the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was delicious! Everyone loved it! I made half da recipe and I couldn't use choc syrup cuz we never by em. I used cocoa instead and it was great! My parents said its real sweet but they still liked it. My sisters and I love it and I was just eating some a while ago :D. I made this in a matter of minutes in our ice cream machine. This was our first "proper" ice cream we made! This is definitely a keeper! Thx for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I love this ice cream. My family makes this, but we have always added mini marshmellows and chopped up almonds to make Rocky Road. It is so creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very simple, very sweet! The third time I made this I just added the ingredients into a 1qt. plasic bowl with a tight lid and shook it for two minutes. I found it needed to be stired every two hours twice, then froze overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
YUMMY!!! Tastes like a heavenly smoother version of a Wendy's frosty, only 10 x better!! My husband made this in a matter of minutes in our ice cream machine and even the neighbours were lining up with spoons after someone bragged about my hubby's homemade ice cream! Terrific recipe and highly recommended for kids to help, too!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very yummy with few steps. I have had better chocolate ice cream, so I'm not rating it 5 stars, but it is close. I made mine in my ice cream maker. One important tip: refrigerate your canned sweetened condensed milk and your chocolate syrup ahead of time so you get the ice cream colder quicker than using those items at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States