Easy Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe but unfortunately was disappointed. These cupcakes were *very dense* and not at all cake like (hence the word cup "cake"). I followed the recipe as stated. I only made half a batch which was 9 nice sized cupcakes. Also, I used my kitchen aid mixer but don't feel I over mixed the batter. Fortunately, i was able to "help" the taste but using the Peanut Butter & Banana Frosting recipe from this site (delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
THis was good. I made a couple of alterations, but not many. I changed the fat to oil after watching an episode of "Throwdown with Bobby Flay" on cupcakes and her (of course, he battled a woman!) secret ingredient was oil in the batter for a lighter brownie. I also added 12 oz chocolate chips, since my boys were begging me to make chocolate, chocolate chip cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These Cupcakes were just okay. They came out a bit dry, which could have been my fault, but still...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I agree with Scarlette. This recipe was alright, but definitely dry. If it weren't for the frosting I made, I probably would have thrown them away, no offense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
We are 8 years old and we made them all by are selfs. They are the best cupcakes we have ever made. We did not have almond extract and they still are great. We enjoyed making them and eating them too. They are the best cupcakes ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made these for my son and he loved them! Maybe a little bit too much cocoa powder, and they could be a little bit more moist. Overall, they were good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The recipe is ok, the batter came out a little thick so I added a bit more milk and a dash of oil in it as well. However, after adding these it was still a little thick so I decided to make them into cookies instead. That worked out great! Just spoon out onto a cookie sheet, bake for about 8-10 minutes, cool, and add a bit of frosting. It's a great mix between a cupcake and a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy-Q

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made these for my Mom's birthday party and thought they turned out okay. They are a nice rich cupcake with good chocolate flavor. The texture was just a little porous and I only got 14 cupcakes which left me a little short. I think doubling the recipe would probably work well to give a good 2 dozen -generous- cupcakes. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These are delicious. I just made these an hour ago - I chose them because I only had unsweetened coco powder and not chocolate chocolate. The batter is like frosting itself and the cupcakes are so airy. I didn't use the almond extract, but that worked out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Simply Delicious!! I used less milk and cocoa powder,and they still came out light and soft and tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States