Easy Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These were pretty bad. I made sure not to over mix. I did notice the batter was very thick but some cupcake recipes vary. I should have known better and cooked them for about 15 minutes instead of 20. They were dry and not very sweet. Probably about half of the cocoa powder could have been used and maybe 3/4 of the flower should have been used. . I will remember now to always read reviews online because I'm not the only one who got dense cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I started creaming the butter while getting the dry ingredients together and discovered that I only a 1/4 cup of cocoa powder left! I started rummaging through my cupboards to find out if I had anything to substitute and found malted milk powder. So, I added 1/2 cup of that and hoped that the cupcakes would turn out. Yay, they did! The tops were rather crusty, but the cupcakes were tasty! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerwannabe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The cupcakes were dry and dense and werent sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great recipe!! Lovely light cakey cupcake. I substituted 1 tablespoon of butter with oil but only because I didn't have enough butter. I did need a wee bit extra milk but only 1/4 of a cup more and I used evaporated milk (out of fresh). I found that they only needed 16mins to cook and I rotated the trays half way through. I got 24 standard sized cupcakes from the batter. Definatly will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Loved this recipe! I substituted butter for coconut oil and it turned out great! I was afraid the cupcakes would be grainy but they were not. I also baked for 20 mins as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe, and the cupcakes ended up a little on the dry side. However, they cooked through evenly and had a nice flavor to them. I didn't have any almond extract on hand, so I substituted a little Hazelnut flavoring syrup which gave them a nice, nutty flavor that went well with the cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was looking for something delicious to bake with things that I already had on hand and this recipe was perfect. My three year old was able to help and we had a great time making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Mopp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Easy to make and they have great homemade chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe wasn't a disaster, but it wasn't the perfect cupcake I'm searching for. It was really dense and a little hard, as well as too dry. Next time I would cook it for less time for hopefully a better cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcavoylove21
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made these for Easter subbing canola oil for the butter. They were a hit! Usually I have trouble getting the right texture but these were perfect - moist, but they weren't falling apart. I'm going to make them again tonight to take to some friends tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States